two-week wrap-up 7/27

Happy Sunday! Can you believe July is almost over?? Where on earth has this summer – YEAR! – gone?

Life-wise, these past two weeks have been fairly low-key and I’m not complaining! Vacation is coming up and I’d like a nice, easy transition into it. Book-wise, however, I’ve been getting/buying some pretty awesome stuff!

FOR REVIEW
Visions by Kelley Armstrong
This is the second in the Cainsville series. Urban Fantasy, serial killers, this totally sounds like a Leah book. Luckily for me, my library has a copy of the first novel, Omens!
The Marco Effect by Jussi Adler-Olsen
I keep seeing this guy pop up at work and now I finally have an excuse to try him out! This is the fifth book in the Department Q series but from what I can tell it’s a series where each novel can stand on its own. Who knows, perhaps a binge-a-thon will happen!

A HUGE thank-you to Dutton for both of these!

BOUGHT
Underground by Haruki Murakami
Non-fiction work about the 1995 gas attack in Tokyo’s subways. Murakami interviewed the victims and I am very interested.
Mrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen
Do I really need to explain myself?
Shine, Shine, Shine by Lydia Netzer
Lydia’s new novel, How to Tell Toledo from the Night Sky, has been receiving some pretty high praise (it’s definitely on my To Read list!) but I wanted to go back and read her debut first.
The Secret Rooms by Catherine Bailey
More non-fiction! AND this one is published by Viking – clearly a winner! In 1940, the Duke of Rutland mysteriously dies in his dark castle. Afterwards, his son ordered a number of rooms be locked and remain so for sixty years. Throw in a plotting duchess, a massive fortune, and a dark secret and I am SO there!
An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield
This haul is all about the non-fic, isn’t it? BUT LOOK AT IT. How could I resist??

In Case You Missed It
Lisa Jensen’s debut, Alias Hook gives depth to one of my favorite villains, Captain Hook. Unfortunately, once the fascinating backstory ended, the book lost steam and my interest went with it. 2/5
With the anniversary of the death of the Romanov family, I shared a new edition of Get Your Fix. Looking for fiction? I’ve got you covered! Want to know more about Nicholas and his family? It’s all here! Curious about the other tsars? I GOT YOU.
Just Like the Movies was my introduction to Kelly Fiore’s work. Although I thought this novel was super cute and quick, what I really loved was the friendship that blossomed between the two main characters. In fact, the entire romance could have been cut and I would have been a happy camper with what would be an AWESOME friendship novel! 3/5
I’m making more of an effort to get back to my browsing roots and my first pick for a new feature (???) is Andrew Porter’s The Theory of Light and Matter, a slim collection of short stories. Award-winning and a pretty high rating on goodreads – I lucked out with this one. 4/5

2 thoughts on “two-week wrap-up 7/27

  1. Small Review says:

    I am SO curious about The Secret Rooms! I’m pretty picky about non-fiction, but the subject matter of this one seems thrilling. Definitely looking forward to your review.

Leave a Reply

