my week in pictures 7/6

I hope all my fellow ‘Muricans had a lovely 4th! Sadly, no pictures of fireworks from me (hahaha, I certainly tried, but my timing was AWFUL. I’ve got lots of photos of smoke and sparkles fizzing out) and it was way too cold for a July night (we were all wrapped in blankets around the fire!), but I got to spend the day with family and had way too much to eat. So it was basically perfect & included dandelion wine – yum!

This week was full of excitement – both good and bad. The week started with a terrible fire that destroyed our favorite place to go for wing/trivia night. There’s also a barber shop and dentist there (with apartments above), but thankfully, no one was there at the time. I drove past the next morning and at some point after we left, half the building came down. It’s currently an empty shell.

Saturday was a perfectly redneck day. We hung out with friends, played around with leftover fireworks, and shot at empty pop cans. Later that night we went to see Deliver Us From Evil and, honestly, it felt more like a random Netflix movie than a legit film. There was so much going on; it tried to be too many things: part crime drama/buddy cop, part supernatural, part horror. It just didn’t work for me. Edgar Ramirez was nice to look at though!

A TON of bookish goodies this week!
FOR REVIEW
Spirits of Ash and Foam by Greg Weisman
This is the second in the Rain Cacique series, Middle Grade with a nice dose of mystery and supernatural (with a Barmuda Triangle setting!). I had grabbed this one from netgalley a few months ago, but it was a nice surprise to see a finished copy! My review for this one goes live July 8. (Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!)
2AM at the Cat’s Pajamas by Marie-Helene Bertino
Since reading Bright Before Sunrise, I’ve been eager to discover one ‘one-day’ novels (did I just make that up? idk). I heard about this one last year and am VERY excited to start it! Three stories are told on the day before Christmas Eve: a 9-year-old wishes to become a jazz singer and head’s to the hottest jazz spot in Philly, The Cat’s Pajamas. Her teacher has recently moved back to Philadelphia after a divorce and is about to attend a dinner party where her high school crush will be. The owner of The Cat’s Pajamas may have to close the doors forever unless he can come up with $30,000. (Thank you, Random House/Crown!)

GIFTED
Hannah is the best ever. Thank you!!
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker & Someone Else’s Skin by Sarah Hilary
Although Hannah wasn’t really sold on either I’m looking forward to them – especially Someone Else’s Skin. I’m all about gory, gruesome murders and I’ve been on a thriller kick lately!

BOUGHT
What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty
The Panopticon by Jenni Fagan
The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi
The Theory of Light and Matter by Andrew Porter
Drown by Junot Diaz
Adding to my Roald Dahl collection:
Storyteller
The Wonderful World of Henry Sugar
Switch Bitch
Going Solo
Ah, Sweet Mystery of Life
My Uncle Oswald
Someone Like You

In Case You Missed It
Jojo Moyes is back with a new novel and – no surprises here – I loved it. 5/5
Kelly Harms’s debut, The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane was great for a beach read – but wasn’t for me. 2/5

One thought on “my week in pictures 7/6

Leave a Reply

