Uncategorized

my week in pictures 6/29

This week was a blast! A few nights ago was our first Night Mart, a shindig where local vendors set up their stalls on the street, shops were open later, there was live music, lots of food, gorgeous shoes, and just all around awesomeness. We arrived just in time: there was a man doing experiments with dry ice! Fun! We tried out a new restaurant – and really liked it! I’m hoping this will become a regular thing in the future! The following day was the farmer’s market and my friend talked me into buying goat cheese, something I had never had before. Oh. My. Gosh. It’s heavenly. Seriously, where has this been all my life?? Super creamy and delicious. Absolute perfection!

This weekend my siblings, Matt, and I went back to my hometown to have a cookout with my dad/dad’s side of the family. It’s always so much fun heading back home, though I think Matt thought I was joking when I told him to watch out for bears. Silly city boys. On our way home we stopped by THE place to get ice cream and saw some gorgeous cars; it was Back to the 50s weekend in town, so all those oldies were out and about and I loved it.

Small haul this week, but it gives me time to catch up on my pile!
FOR REVIEW
Spirits of Ash and Foam by Greg Weisman
This is the second novel in the Rain Cacique series (my thoughts on the first novel are here). I had already read this one – grabbed it from netgalley – so it was a pleasant surprise to find it in my mail. Sadly, I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as the first. Head back July 8 to see my review for this one! (Thank you, St. Martin’s Griffin!!)

BOUGHT
Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi
This one has been on my Priority shelf for a while now, same with her latest, Boy, Snow, Bird. It was too beautiful a day to head home after the farmer’s market, so we popped into the bookstore and I grabbed it. I’ve been itching for some magical realism since finishing the fantastic House at the End of Hope Street.

Does your town do any fun things in the summer? In the winter?? What books did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
Just one post this week, but I loved it: what makes a well-read reader? Jamie inspired this one and I was shocked by my results! (bonus: charts! & math!)

Leave a Reply

