Uncategorized

my week in pictures 6/21

wip621
HAPPY SUMMER!!

To say work was a nightmare last week would be a mild understatement. We’re currently short-staffed and with a gigantic district-wide book sale that we sent people to, the overload really hit hard and took its toll. This week I was the laziest I’ve ever been haha! Any time I was home I could be found a) in pajamas and b) on my couch binging on netflix. Great for my sanity, not so great for a weekly recap! Next week will be better!

My brother turned 20 this week and my goodness time flies! Clearly good looks run in the family :D

I’m pretty thrilled with the books I got this week!
BOUGHT
The Romanov Sisters: The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra by Helen Rappaport
This family (and Imperial Russia in general) holds a special place in my heart and I’ve taken any – and every! – opportunity to post about them. July is the anniversary of their death and it seemed fitting to read this book beforehand.
This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
Okay, confession time: I had wanted to read this book when I first heard about it (and a good friend recommended it too!) but what really sealed the deal was the upcoming movie. Jason Bateman, Tina Fey, Timothy Olyphant, Jane Fonda, Corey Stoll…the cast list is basically every awesome person ever.

FOR REVIEW
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain
Riley spent her entire adult life believing her sister had committed suicide when they were younger. Twenty years later, Riley’s father passes away and in cleaning out his house, she uncovers evidence that leads her to believe Lisa is alive and well. This is exactly the kind of psychological novel I adore and I’m looking forward to jumping in! Thank you, St. Martin’s!
Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little
Okay, so a debut blurbed by TANA FRENCH? That certainly caught my eye! A socialite convicted of murdering her mother is released on a technicality ten years later. Now she’s on the hunt to track down the real killer, all the while in the media spotlight. This sounds fantastic AND it’s from Viking. Y’all know how I feel about Viking. Thank you, Viking!

Have you heard of these? What did you do this week? What books did you get??

In Case You Missed It
Never say never: I thought I swore off dystopia for good until Archetype showed me just how riveting the genre can be! I was instantly hooked and am looking forward to the second book in this duology! 4/5
The Kiss of Deception, on the other hand, was plain awful in that it passed itself off as something it wasn’t. I went in expecting a new fantasy series to love. Instead, it’s 500 pages of love triangle. No thank you. 1/5

One thought on “my week in pictures 6/21

  1. First, you look adorable. Second, I really liked This is Where I Leave You. Totally good! (I read it awhile ago but I’m pretty sure it made me laugh out loud & also feel incredibly sad so it was a good balance. haha) Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

