Uncategorized

Coincidental Reading

This year I’ve been trying to get into the habit of thinking more when it comes to picking books to read/review. Instead of giving in to a pretty cover, I need to focus on the story: is it by an author I enjoy? Does the blurb sound like something I could actually get into? I don’t know if this is a result of that, but I’ve been discovering some very strange coincidences cropping up in books that are completely unrelated.

Last year I read Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys (my 5-star review) and Kristan Higgins’s The Best Man (my 4.5-star review). While they weren’t read back-to-back they stuck out for me since they both featured characters with a very distinct name: Blue. It’s not everyday you come across a character named Blue. If it had been Ann or Sarah I wouldn’t have batted an eye, but here we have an Adult Contemporary and a YA Fantasy which became linked in my mind.

Three recent reads actually WERE read back-to-back and, again, feature similarities that came out of nowhere.

Last week I read Jojo Moyes’s Silver Bay (my 5-star review). It’s set in a small seaside town where the MC makes a living by taking tourists out on her boat to do some whale watching. Two of the boats are called Ishmael and Moby One. Immediately before Silver Bay I binged on Jeff Smith’s graphic novel series, Bone. The main character has something of an obsession with Moby Dick and in one volume, there’s an entire dream sequence where the characters are dressed as characters from the book.

As if that wasn’t enough, my follow-up to Silver Bay was Joe Hill’s Locke & Key, a graphic novel full of horror and paranormal-y goodness. One chapter had a shout-out to Bone.

All five of these were completely different genres, completely different authors, completely different subject matters. Yet, by some strange twist of fate, they all seemed to be linked. I don’t know if it was just perfect timing on my part or if by being more conscious of the books I read, somehow that had an effect.

Has this ever happened to you? Have you ever read random books that had odd coincidences?? Am I simply losing my mind?
3 thoughts on “Coincidental Reading

Leave a Reply

