Uncategorized

april recap!

ap
image via pinterest

SHUT. UP. April is already over?! When did that happen?? Seriously – and I feel I say this EVERY month – this year is flying by! 2015 will be here before we know it.

So continuing with my goal check-in, let’s see what April was like:

READING

At my March check-in I had read a total of 24 books out of my goal of 60. I’m currently at 33 books, or 55% of my goal! You know, I had actually lowered it from last year, but if I keep this pace I’ll have no problem. Unfortunately, I did not read any library books, but I DID read older titles! I had an extra-long weekend and managed to sneak in TWO graphic novels – is that cheating a bit? Graphic novels/comics/manga are a MUCH quicker read than novels, but I still read two books that weren’t review copies, so I’ll take it!

The other part of my reading goal was to pick books I know I’ll enjoy, rather than ones with pretty covers or a sorta-kinda interesting blurb. Here are my current ratings.
5-stars: 6
4-stars: 16
3-stars: 5
2-stars: 3
1-star: 2
DNF: 1

In March I only had three books that were 5 stars; I doubled that this month. How awesome is that! I also greatly increased my number of 4-star titles. On the other hand, I also added another 1-star book.

REQUESTING

To be honest, I haven’t even been keeping track of the titles I’ve requested, both from sites like NG/EW and from publishers. I will admit that I requested Jojo Moyes’s upcoming novel, but come on…IT’S JOJO. She will forever and always get a free pass!

I’ve also been going through new catalogs..BUT I’ve been doing some careful consideration. For example, there’s one title I’d love to read: it’s a sequel and I gave the first book a solid 4 stars. That’s a book I’d feel comfortable taking on. There are also a few upcoming titles that caught my eye that are from authors I’ve read and enjoyed. So we’ll see how it goes!

…& THIS MONTH ON THE BLOG

REVIEWS
The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin 4/5

The Storied Life of AJ Fikry is a love letter. A love letter to booksellers. A love letter to bookstores. A love letter to readers.

Cold Calls by Charles Benoit 4/5

Face pace, highly entertaining plot, and a fun mystery to boot! If you’re looking to play detective for an afternoon, look no further than Cold Calls.

The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder 4/5

Off the bat I should mention this is NOT a happy-go-lucky road trip book. Nope. Not. At. All. The Museum of Intangible Things was a wonderful, beautiful, gorgeous friendship novel (seriously, their love for each other shone through. I wasn’t told they were best friends, I felt it, I saw it), but it was also a heartbreaking look at mental illness, alcoholism, and the hopelessness of being unable to help someone you love.

Steal the North by Heather Brittain Bergstrom 5/5

It floors me that Steal the North is Bergstrom’s first novel. With a debut like this there’s no telling what the future holds – but I look forward to it! Steal the North was filled to the brim with emotion: heavy subjects like loss and race were handled with grace and the love coursing through these pages hit home.

A Paris Apartment by Michelle Gable 3/5

A Paris Apartment is the perfect novel to reach for during these rainy spring days – it makes for a wonderful escape and is certainly a story worth getting lost in!

FEATURES
My Week in Pictures 4/6: farms + giant tentacle monsters!
My Week in Pictures 4/13: shopping sprees + family!
My Week in Pictures 4/20: netflix hates me + bunnies!
My Week in Pictures 4/27: superhero marathons!
Get Your Fix: Civil War I initially made the art novel post because of a disappointing novel (I wanted to show why artists & paintings are my favorite subjects in books!). …I ended up having so much fun I decided to make this a feature! What better time to discuss Civil War novels than the anniversary!

MISC
I have a growing collection of prints and this Roald Dahl quote needs to be mine. (Dahl is one of my all-time favorites and I although I already own a Dahl quote, you can never have too much!)

2 thoughts on “april recap!

Leave a Reply

