my week in pictures: bunnies, discounts, & sales!

HAPPY EASTER! The weather here is supposed to be beautiful today – I hope it’s gorgeous where you are too! Any special plans? Church? Brunch with the family? CHOCOLATE?

Is anyone else as addicted to Netflix as I am? Matt & I pretty much live for it and whenever we host Bad Movie Nights, it always comes down to Max’s pick. A few nights ago, however… yeah, choosing between the Kevins is like asking me to choose a favorite child. WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME, NETFLIX.

I’m still working my way through I Am Pilgrim, the book of the summer. And you know what? I totally get the hype! This behemoth of a book (mine is 600+ pages, other editions are over 700!) is INCREDIBLE and exactly the kind of thriller I love. Crazy short chapters (think a page or two at most), a fantastic main character who doesn’t exist, and a trip around the world. I’m in love!

I got a ton of books this week:
BOUGHT
A Series of Unfortunate Events books one, two, and three
I read the first book YEARS ago and never continued the series, but now I’m curious about what I missed.
Margot by Jillian Cantor
This was a novel I added to my Priority shelf when I culled my goodreads shelves – and now it’s mine! Historical fiction following Anne Frank’s sister.
The Dangers of Proximal Alphabets by Kathleen Alcott
I was offered a review copy of this one a while ago but declined. Now I’m interested in checking it out – I’ve been looking for some good Coming of Age stories!
The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
Another Priority book. This one takes place in Alaska in 1920. A couple builds a child out of snow and it becomes real. :) I’ve been craving more magical realism and this one is supposed to be fab!
The Wolves of Mercy Falls books one and three by Maggie Stiefvater
Maggie can do no wrong and these books come highly recommended by a friend at work. I’m still on the lookout for book two, but I have plenty of other books to read in the meantime.
Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
FINALLY! It’s mine allll mine! I’ve been looking for this book FOR MONTHS and I finally managed to track down a copy.
A Working Theory of Love by Scott Hutchins
I first heard of this one through Jen’s Do! Judge a Book by its Cover post. A bit literary, a hint of sci-fi. I’m sold!

FOR REVIEW
Murder at Honeychurch Hall by Hannah Dennison
I’m a HUGE fan of cozy mysteries and an even bigger fan of old school British mysteries. This novel is a combination of the two and I’m looking forward to diving in!
Murder on the Hoof by Kathryn O’Sullivan
This one is a sequel (the first in the series is Foal Play), but the best part of cozies is that you can jump in anywhere in the series. Outer Banks + the wild horses on the beach. This one looks fun!
Afterparty by Daryl Gregory
I LOVED Raising Stony Mayhall (one of my first reviews on the blog!) and cannot wait to read this new novel!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
Steal the North is Heather Brittain Bergstrom’s debut and guys, my mind was blown. If THIS is her first crack at a book, I can’t imagine what she’ll write next! I lived and breathed these characters and I’m not in the least bit ashamed to admit to crying – not just tearing up – but crying. So wonderful. 5/5
I have a growing collection of prints around my house: quotes, paintings, etc. I already have one Roald Dahl piece, but this one is one I think needs to be added!

4 thoughts on “my week in pictures: bunnies, discounts, & sales!

  1. Allison (Allure of Books) says:

    I’m glad to hear I Am Pilgrim is worth the hype – I’ve been working myself up to it. I have several other thrillers I need to get to as well, and it is just SO. LONG.

    I’ve been really curious about Margot too, hope it turns out to be as interesting as it sounds!

Leave a Reply

