my week in pictures 3/22 + a giveaway!

You guys might remember that I used to do a My Week in Pictures last year. :) I’ve decided to bring it back! This time, however, I’ll be using it as a replacement for Stacking the Shelves.

Tuesday was my mama’s birthday and we had one of my all-time favorite dinners, lasagna! My family is really close (literally, too!) and we always do little get-togethers, my favorite being what we’ve dubbed Chili Mondays. Ha! That’s pretty self-explanatory, isn’t it? I had a great time and my mom had a great party. ♥♥ Happy birthday, Mom! I love you!

If you don’t know by now, I’ve got a mad crush on Julep. They recently came out with a new color in honor of Malala (I’ve been itching to read her book!). I had a coupon for a free polish so this was a total no-brainer. It’s a really beautiful dusty rose!

BABIES! My cousin had a baby earlier this month and I’ve been wanting not-so-patiently for a chance to go visit. I finally got the chance Friday when Matt, my siblings, and I went back to my hometown for a fish dinner with my dad’s side of the family (go Lent!). Until now, my niece had been the youngest and I forgot just how much of a difference there is between a 2.5-year-old and a newborn haha!

I received some pretty fantastic novels this week that I’m really looking forward to reading: Lockstep by Karl Schroeder is a space opera, a genre I haven’t read in far too long! Seventeen-year-old Toby is lost in space, having just awoke from a hibernation-like state aboard his now-dead spacecraft. It turns out he hasn’t been asleep for the typical month – he’s been asleep for 14,000 years. I started this one last night and so far it’s great!

Hidden by Catherine McKenzie
What is it with me and mistress novels lately?? This week I read Sarah Rayner’s The Other Half (check back next week for my review!) and now there’s Hidden. A man is killed in a car accident and two women are crushed by the news: his wife and his co-worker. Judging from other reviews the true mystery lies in the relationship Jeff shared with Tish – were they really having an affair? Regardless, I’m quite looking forward to this one, even more so with three narratives!

The Venetian Bargain by Marina Fiorato
The title sounds far more like a thriller from my favorite Steve Berry. In reality it’s historical fiction that takes place in 16th century Italy. Say no more!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this week??

In Case You Missed It
This week I reviewed two novels, one was among the worst I’ve ever read while the other became a forever favorite.

Hyde by Daniel Levine was one of my most anticipated novels of 2014 and turned out to be a gross and disgusting disaster. I was so looking forward to this reimagining where Hyde was the hero of the story, but the obsession with fecal matter seriously killed it for me. 1/5

Thankfully Menna van Praag’s The House at the End of Hope Street came along just in time. Since finishing this novel I haven’t been able to stop talking about it, though I suppose talking isn’t the right word. Gushing? FLAILING, perhaps? For such a short book (less than 300 pages), there’s SO MUCH to discuss and I couldn’t stop myself. This was a novel I sacrificed sleep for! When I was done I wanted to turn back to the very page and begin again! This isn’t just a top read of 2014, this book is a favorite of all time. 5/5

Now it’s your chance to win a copy!

Simply fill out this form and I’ll announce the winner (US only, please!) on March 25! Easy peasy!

2 thoughts on “my week in pictures 3/22 + a giveaway!

Leave a Reply

