Uncategorized

stacking the shelves & bewaring the ides of march

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

FOR REVIEW
Steal the North by Heather Brittain Bergstrom
A mother who left a fundamentalist church and her family is sending her 16-year-old daughter out to Washington to meet an aunt Emmy never knew she had (as well as the cute Native American boy next door!). Honestly, what really sealed the deal was this line: In a part of the country where the age-old tensions of cowboys versus Indians still play out… Yep. I can’t wait to read this. Also, it’s by Viking. Remember when I talked about my favorite imprints? Things are looking good for this one already.
Chop Chop by Simon Wroe
A novel set in a restaurant kitchen where the atmosphere is “more akin to a zoo—or a maximum security prison.” YES PLEASE. I’m a huge fan of shows like Kitchen Nightmares (Gordon Ramsay is my husband, thank you very much ♥) and Chopped, so I’m very interested in seeing how this novel will turn out.

BOUGHT
The Shadow Throne (The Ascendance Trilogy #3) by Jennifer A. Nielsen
:( Can..can I pretend this series isn’t over? The False Prince FLOORED me. The Runaway King wasn’t as great as TFP, but I still loved it dearly. If you haven’t read these books yet, PLEASE DO IT. They’re funny, they’re gripping, the characters aren’t black & white – the villains have reasons for why they do the things they do. The good guys aren’t all that great. I will never tire of singing this series praises and I’m not ready for it to be over.
Swamplandia! by Karen Russell
An alligator-wrestling theme park. A 12-year-old who bears the burden of keeping business going after losing her mother. A brother who sold out to the competition. I’ve been eager to read Russell’s novels for a while now and when I came across this at work for $2, I couldn’t pass it up.
Sheltering Rain by Jojo Moyes
This could be a phone book for all I care. It’s Jojo Moyes

In Case You Missed It
Laura McHugh’s The Weight of Blood was a novel with a lot of hype (“for fans of Gillian Flynn”) that was a letdown:

This novel wasn’t bad, but it also wasn’t great. Nothing about it wowed me, at no point did I feel the need to stay up late or rush to squeeze in just one more chapter. When it comes down to it, The Weight of Blood was an entertaining story while it lasted, but it’s ultimately forgettable.

I did some spring cleaning online and culled my goodreads shelves! I discussed a little about how I did it + a few new shelves I created.

2 thoughts on “stacking the shelves & bewaring the ides of march

Leave a Reply

