The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh

Title: The Weight of Blood
Author: Laura McHugh
Pub. Date: March 11, 2014
Source: e-ARC via netgalley (thank you, Spiegel & Grau!)
Summary:

The Dane family’s roots tangle deep in the Ozark Mountain town of Henbane, but that doesn’t keep sixteen-year-old Lucy Dane from being treated like an outsider. Folks still whisper about her mother, a bewitching young stranger who inspired local myths when she vanished years ago. When one of Lucy’s few friends, slow-minded Cheri, is found murdered, Lucy feels haunted by the two lost girls-the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t protect. Everything changes when Lucy stumbles across Cheri’s necklace in an abandoned trailer and finds herself drawn into a search for answers. What Lucy discovers makes it impossible to ignore the suspicion cast on her own kin. More alarming, she suspects Cheri’s death could be linked to her mother’s disappearance, and the connection between the two puts Lucy at risk of losing everything. In a place where the bonds of blood weigh heavy, Lucy must decide where her allegiances lie.
Genre: Adult, Thriller, Mystery
Rating:

“You grow up feeling the weight of blood, of family. There’s no forsaking kin. But you can’t help when kin forsakes you or when strangers come to be family.”

After a handful of really fantastic YA reads, I wanted to get back to my roots: Thrillers. I’ve mentioned a few times that, before I began blogging, the majority of the books I read were mysteries and thrillers. Lately I haven’t read nearly as many as I would like and the ones I do read are typically my go-to comfort reads during snow days or when I’m not feeling so great. I’ve made a conscious effort to have 2014 be the year I get back to the basics, the year I fall in love with reading again, and I knew that it would include my favorite genre.

Sixteen-year-old Lucy Dane has no idea what happened to her mother and those who were around back then aren’t saying much. When Lila arrived in town, folk immediately disliked her: she was an outsider and her too-short shorts weren’t doing her any favors in winning over Henbane. It wasn’t long before she was labeled a witch, an evil seductress, and when she disappeared there weren’t many people in town who were upset. Were it not for the neighbors – more like family – Lila’s baby girl would hardly have survived; the moment she vanished, Carl shut down and hid away inside their bedroom with a bottle of Southern Comfort, in no way fit to raise a baby. Fifteen years have passed since then and Lucy finds herself experiencing loss once more.

One of Lucy’s only friends, a girl named Cheri, is discovered in a tree down by the river. It wasn’t a secret Cheri had a terrible homelife and no one was all that surprised when word got out Cheri ran away. The only person who suspected there might be more to the story was Lucy and Cheri’s body leaves her with more questions. Lucy’s determined to uncover the truth, even if that means striking against her own family.

For a debut novel to be compared to Gillian Flynn’s works is pretty high praise and despite knowing better I gave in to the hype. I’ve never read any of Flynn’s novels and, to be honest, if they’re anything like The Weight of Blood, I don’t think I’ll be picking one up anytime soon. This novel wasn’t bad, but it also wasn’t great. Nothing about it wowed me, at no point did I feel the need to stay up late or rush to squeeze in just one more chapter. When it comes down to it, The Weight of Blood was an entertaining story while it lasted, but it’s ultimately forgettable. I won’t be gushing over the characters or excitedly pushing this book on customers and I already know there will never be a re-read in my future.

That’s not to say there weren’t things about it I really enjoyed! I’m a big fan of plots involving similar murders/disappearances/crimes committed a decade (or more) apart. I absolutely love the trope and it’s what initially put this book on my radar. Small towns and their secrets are also instant winners for me and this aspect was incredibly well done. Bravo, Ms. McHugh! And my love for multiple narratives is blatant at this point – another plus for The Weight of Blood. While Lucy and Lila are the central figures, many others lend their voice and it was fascinating seeing the story play out through the secondary characters’ eyes.

Sadly, it’s there that my praise ends. The Weight of Blood isn’t a terrible book at all and I truly was invested while reading, but nothing about the novel left a lasting impression. I can’t imagine thinking back on this book a month from now. The Weight of Blood is a fairly bland story – it would make for a decent rainy day read, but I just don’t see it becoming a book people are rushing out to buy.

4 thoughts on “The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh

Leave a Reply

