Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 3/8

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!


FOR REVIEW
The House at the End of Hope Street by Menna van Praag
A Ph.D student at Cambridge goes through the Worst Event of Her Life and winds up at 11 Hope Street. An older woman invites her inside and allows Alba only 99 nights to get her life back on track. Alba discovers past residents include Virginia Woolf, Dorothy Parker, and Agatha Christie. Magical Realism, GLBT, whimsy. I’m really looking forward to this one!
The Other Half by Sarah Rayner
A contemporary narrated by the wife and the mistress. There’s something I find strangely appealing about the idea of looking in on the lives of these two women.
Hyde by David Levine
I had received an ARC a while back and now have a shiny finished hardback! This novel is a re-imagining of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, only this time, Hyde is the hero of the story. Hyde releases in a few weeks – be on the lookout for my upcoming review!
On the Rocks by Erin Duffy
The day she was trying on a gorgeous wedding dress, Abby was dumped by Ben in the worst way possible – he changed his facebook status to single. Six months later, Abby’s best friend Grace plans a summer vacation for the two of them in an attempt to get Abby’s mind off Ben. This one sounds like a fun, quick read and there’s a LOT of social media talk in its pages.
The Midnight Witch by Paula Brackston
Another novel I had originally received as an ARC. This one comes out later this month as well – keep your eyes peeled!
Goodnight June by Sarah Jio
An imagining of the lost history of and inspiration for Goodnight Moon!

BOUGHT
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
I have two Jojo novels under my belt now and cannot wait to dive into this one!
Splintered (Splintered #1) by A.G. Howard
A retelling of Alice in Wonderland? I’m game! I’ve heard good things about this one!
Fixing Delilah by Sarah Ockler
Another novel I’ve heard fabulous things about. I managed to snag a copy at work for 50 cents.
Secret (Elemental #4) by Brigid Kemmerer
I’m a huge fan of this series! Unfortunately, I’ve only read e-copies and copies borrowed from work. Not only do I want my own set of this series, but I’m also concocting a plan to force these books upon my sisters. I’ve successfully managed to woo my youngest sister with Trish Doller and Tiffany Schmidt, now it’s time for some Brigid Kemmerer in her life.
Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo
Another series I love and now desperately need to own.

FROM THE LIBRARY
Shakespeare’s Tremor and Orwell’s Cough by John J. Ross
I love a good non-fic every once in a while. This one sounds incredibly interesting – the medical lives of famous writers – and it also seems like a book where I can jump around a lot.

Have you read any of these? Curious about some of them?? What did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
As much as I love art in my historical fiction, Robin Oliveira’s I Always Loved You didn’t capture me as I had hoped. Mary Cassatt and Edgar Degas were fascinating people, but I was never invested in their story. 2/5 stars
In an attempt to turn that negative review into something positive – and because I LOVE me some art novels – I compiled a huge list of books both on this blog and ones I have yet to read: My Love Affair with the Art Novel.
Nothing makes me giddier than deadly plagues, so I was the prime audience for Makiia Lucier’s A Death-Struck Year, a novel about the Spanish Influenza. 4/5
One of my most anticipated releases of 2014 turned out to be a massive disappointment: Shannon Hale’s Dangerous. It had absolutely nothing going for it: a serious case of instalove (plus a serious makeout session in the first few chapters), terrible dialogue, horrible plot devices that make no sense. It was awful. DNF
Thankfully that bad taste didn’t last too long. Jean Zimmerman’s Savage Girl sucked me in and when I had to set it aside – work, grocery shopping, etc – the book was constantly on my mind. Feral child, gruesome murders, high society, the Gilded Age, and a mystery that seriously kept me guessing until the final reveal. 4.5/5

6 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 3/8

Leave a Reply

