Uncategorized

Let’s Talk About…Imprints!

penguinpaint
image via we♥it

Last month Simon over at Savidge Reads discussed something I never really gave much thought to until then: Does the Imprint Matter? Although I do keep track of publishers on goodreads, it’s mostly for my own reference. It wasn’t until Simon posed a question about imprints and our preference for certain presses that I thought to take a look at my own books and see if there happened to be any patterns.

Based on my goodreads shelves, Penguin seems to be my publisher of choice, with both Viking and Pamela Dorman being my go-to imprints. Interestingly enough, my current read, I Always Loved You is a Viking novel.

:) all covers link to my review!

recent Viking favorites

Upcoming Viking reviews include I Always Loved You by Robin Oliveira and Savage Girl by Jean Zimmerman!

recent Pamela Dorman favorites

As much as I love those two imprints, I seem to seriously love Atria. It’s to the point now where, if a book is attached to Atria, I’m FAR more inclined to pick it up and chances are I’ll absolutely love it.

recent Atria favorites

Atria has taken over my brain! I’ve got loads of upcoming reviews: Catching Air by Sarah Pekkanen, The Midnight Rose by Lucinda Riley, I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes, and The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera to name a few!

Do you have a go-to imprint? What are your favorites?
15 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About…Imprints!

  1. GOLDEN BOY. YESSSSSS. Sorry, that’s totally not the point, but I love that book and not enough people have read it.

    Anyway, I actually had a spreadsheet I used for about a year tracking imprint/publisher with my ratings. When I get all my reviews converted to WP, I’m planning to relaunch that, because I DO think it matters.

    Basically, I don’t know how helpful it is for favorites yet. One year of data wasn’t really enough, because there are SO many publishers. However, it is useful to mark trouble imprints. One for me is HarperTeen, which I occasionally adore but mostly hate. For every Kasie West, there are three books I want to throw across the room. That’s good to know, because then I’m more hesitant to request a HarperTeen book from an unknown author. To compare, Balzer + Bray often works well for me, so I will be more likely to request a book from that imprint.

    It also differs from publisher to publisher and imprint to imprint. Tracking what they publish can be interesting. Sometimes publishers seem to put very specific things in each imprint. Balzer + Bray seems to be primarily higher concept/quality. HarperTeen seems to be the more faddish/the equivalent of pop music. HarperCollins imprint seems to be for their top selling authors. Orbit and Tor are clearly delineated fantasy/science fiction imprints. Then there are imprints like Simon & Schuster’s Touchstone or Macmillan’s St. Martin’s which publish EVERYTHING: non-fiction and all kinds of fiction in one big lump. Obviously, the imprint thing isn’t particularly helpful when it’s just a mass of books. However, if they’re divided by some sort of logic, it is helpful. Also, even with St. Martin’s, I happened to notice that I almost always adore their contemporaries and loathe anything else.

    So it does matter. Sometimes. Maybe.

  2. Interesting! I do know I tend to love Hogarth Books — they always knock it out of the park for me. I want to like Europa Editions, but they’re too subtle-exploration-of-the-human-psyche for me. I’d have to dig in more. I bet Berkley will show up — they do a lot of hist fic I like — oh — I do know I tend toward Harper Perennial, too. Will dig in more.

  3. I really need to take a look at which pubs I read, and which are imprints. I’d be really interesting to see what my reading tastes say, but I haven’t paid enough attention to know which pubs to stay away from! Haha

  4. I love Penguin books, too. I DO pay attention to imprints, because while I know every publisher has its hits or misses, there are some I have really good luck with. I think it’s blogger thing, though–I would guess most bookstore browsers don’t notice or care who’s releasing a book. But maybe I’m wrong.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

Leave a Reply

