2014 · 5 stars · contemporary · fiction · historical fiction · romance

The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes + Winner!

Title: The Last Letter from Your Lover
Author: Jojo Moyes
Pub. Date: July 7, 2011
Source: finished copy via publisher (thank you, Penguin!!)
Summary: It is 1960. When Jennifer Stirling wakes up in the hospital, she can remember nothing-not the tragic car accident that put her there, not her husband, not even who she is. She feels like a stranger in her own life until she stumbles upon an impassioned letter, signed simply “B”, asking her to leave her husband.

Years later, in 2003, a journalist named Ellie discovers the same enigmatic letter in a forgotten file in her newspaper’s archives. She becomes obsessed by the story and hopeful that it can resurrect her faltering career. Perhaps if these lovers had a happy ending she will find one to her own complicated love life, too. Ellie’s search will rewrite history and help her see the truth about her own modern romance.
Genre: Adult, Fiction
Rating:

And if you feel that your decision was the right one, know this at least: that somewhere in this world is a man who loves you, who understands how precious and clever and kind you are. A man who has always loved you and, to his detriment, suspects he always will.

I am not a sappy girl. I don’t get mushy or go all starry-eyed over forbidden romance. That said, I truly believe Jojo Moyes is on a one-woman mission to utterly destroy me. The Last Letter from Your Love ripped out my heart and stomped all over it…and I loved every second.

Much like The Girl You Left Behind, The Last Letter from Your Lover follows two stories over two different eras. In the 1960s, Jennifer Stirling had it all: a fabulously wealthy husband, a beautiful house, all the finest dresses, and her parties were renowned. A devastating car accident left her with memory loss and as she slowly pieces her life back together, she uncovers letters. Passionate letters from a man who certainly is not her husband. Times were different then – a woman was expected to maintain the house and children while the husband worked and divorce could ruin her reputation. Despite this, Jenny wants, needs to find this man she loved so fiercely.

In 2003 Ellie Haworth isn’t where she envisioned herself to be at 32: a year into an affair with a man who has no interest in permanently leaving his wife and trapped in a newspaper office constantly searching for the next big story. With the building undergoing massive renovations, Ellie’s tasked with searching through the archives and writing a feature on life in a previous era. While going through decades-old files, Ellie discovers letters – not just any letters, but love letters. The more she reads the more she becomes attached to these two strangers and their forbidden romance that so clearly mirrors her own. She decides then and there to track down these two people and see what came of their romance: did the woman accept his offer and leave her husband? Did she decide it was a mistake and has spent the past forty years trying to put it behind her?

With two Moyes novels now under my belt, I feel confident in saying she’s a favorite author. Even before this book, when I had only read The Girl You Left Behind, I knew there was something special about her and I was left wanting more. Moyes has a way of making me completely incoherent and I absolutely love that her books have such an effect on me.

I will say though, that as much as I love her novels, Jojo Moyes has a slightly jarring way of switching eras. The novel opens in 1960 and although there were a few small skips to 1964, the story followed Jenny and Anthony for so long that I began wondering if perhaps I read the summary wrong and 2003 had been left out completely. It wasn’t until page 231 that the second story line appeared and by then I was so invested in the previous story that I struggled a bit to get into it. Roughly 150 pages were left to not only wrap up the first story, but also introduce and complete the second, and I felt Ellie’s story suffered because of this. My other minor (minor! This is Jojo we’re talking about and she can do no wrong in my eyes!) issue is with the letters. While Anthony’s words were breathtakingly beautiful and heartfelt, they are read and reread so many times by so many different characters that it felt like overkill – especially since each instance features the letter in its entirety.

With only two small distractions, I’d say The Last Letter from Your Lover is about as close to a perfect novel as you can get. My heart ached for Anthony and Jennifer and I fell in love with their story. In hindsight, several plot twists are obvious, but while I was reading I was shocked and surprised – definitely the sign of a great writer! Also, Moyes threw in a Doctor Who reference and that alone is enough to warrant five stars! I loved this book and I adore Moyes: do yourself a favor and read The Last Letter from Your Lover. It’s sweet and sad and beautiful and heartbreaking.

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE! Last week I announced a two-book giveaway and now it’s time to announce the winner:
Estelle!!

Congratulations, E! She’ll be receiving a copy of The Last Letter from Your Lover as well as

4 thoughts on “The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes + Winner!

Leave a Reply

