Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 2/8 + Jojo Moyes Giveaway!!

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!


18310561

The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes
It’s Jojo. Need I say more?

I Always Loved You by Robin Oliveira
I’m a sucker for historical fiction where real people are the characters. I Always Loved You tells the story of Mary Cassatt and Edgar Degas. For someone as totally clueless about art as I am, I seem to absolutely love the topic in novels: B.A. Shapiro’s The Art Forger is a favorite of mine, as well as Jojo’s The Girl You Left Behind and Tara Conklin’s The House Girl. If this book is anything like these other three, I think we’ll have a fantastic time together :)

Savage Girl by Jean Zimmerman
An 18-year-old girl who was raised by wolves in adopted by a fabulously wealthy Manhattan couple in 1875. Once she arrives in the city, suitors begin lining up – and a strings of murders follows shortly after. The couple’s son is prepared to take the blame and the story is told through his voice. Savage Girl is certainly different than what I usually read, but I’m interested!
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

This book sounds a little like Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life (if you remember it was one of my top reads of last year! SO good!): every time Harry August dies, he’s reborn. At the end of his eleventh life, a girl appears at his bedside saying she has a message for him. I can’t pass up a good sci-fi – especially when it involves time travel! Apparently Claire North is a pseudonym and I’m really curious as to who this author really is!

In Case You Missed It
Michelle Richmond’s Golden State kept me awake well into the night. I couldn’t tear myself away from this book! California is taking a vote on whether or not it will secede from the United States, but this book is about so much more. If you’re looking for a character-driven story, look no further.

There are still a few days left to enter this giveaway! I fell HARD for Pioneer Girl. Bich Minh Nguyen’s novel follows a Vietnamese-American woman as she discovers an artifact that had possibly once belonged to Laura Ingalls Wilder. I haven’t stopped thinking about this book since finishing and I’m craving a Little House binge session!

Saundra Mitchell’s Mistwalker was basically a novel written for ME. Between references to the Weasley twins and Deadliest Catch I was thoroughly hooked. Looking for a good ghost story without romance? Here you go!

GIVEAWAY TIME!!

To celebrate the new cover of The Last Letter from Your Lover, Penguin is allowing me to host a giveaway! ONE US winner will receive both The Last Letter from Your Lover as well as Me Before You! To enter, simply fill out this form. I’ll announce the winner on Valentine’s Day. GOOD LUCK!

Leave a Reply

