Uncategorized

January Recap

012014

REVIEWS
The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine | 1 star

Someone choking is not sexy. Performing the Heimlich should NEVER be viewed as an intimate act. I have seen people choke. I have witnessed the Heimlich being performed in order to save a life. None of these instances got me all hot and bothered and it’s disgusting that this was the case for The Promise of Amazing.

No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale | 4.5 stars

While this novel may not be for everyone, the readers who enjoy it will really enjoy it. It’s gruesome and dark and I couldn’t get enough.

A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey | 4 stars

I was surprised by just how much I enjoyed A Breath of Frost. This was definitely an instance where I was at the right place at the right time, the-star-were-aligned sort of moment. A Breath of Frost was exactly what I hadn’t realized I wanted to read and it was fantastic.

The Dirt Diary by Anna Staniszewski | 2 stars

…I would have enjoyed The Dirt Diary so much more if it hasn’t been watered down with simple language more suited for a Kindergarten class. Writing a Middle Grade (or even Young Adult!) novel does not mean the language needs to be dumbed down.

Secret by Brigid Kemmerer | 4.5 stars

If you still haven’t read these books, don’t be like me. Don’t ignore this series. Do yourself a favor and head to your library. Head to your bookstore and buy the whole set. There’s truly something in this series for everyone: romance, action, paranormal elements, and – my favorite – a massive amount of character depth. Brigid Kemmerer seriously does a number on these boys (and girls!) and they definitely aren’t the same characters they were in the first book.

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee | 2 stars

Toward the end I was skimming more than reading and the big fight scene was over in such a rush it felt completely pointless. I had high expectations for Ophelia and the Real Boy and, sadly, they fell flat.

FEATURES
Epic Recs is back!! I had such a great time back in December that I couldn’t wait to jump on board again this month. My partner rec’d a novel I’ve been dying to read for a while and I rec’d one of my favorites from a few years back.

MISC
The new year kicked off with a bang (and a giveaway)!
Pittsburgh was unusually chilly this month and to warm up I posted nine new takes on chocolate in Hot Drinks for a cold Night. Tell me these don’t sound delish!
You should all be well aware of my love for Edgar Allan Poe by now. This month he would have celebrated his 205th birthday.

One thought on “January Recap

Leave a Reply

