Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 1/25

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

FOR REVIEW
The Midnight Witch by Paula Brackston
Edwardian London. World War I. Necromancy. I am so ready for this!

Something Real by Heather Demetrios
I received this one from Rachel (♥ ♥ thank you!!). I think Reality Television is slowly becoming a Thing in YA. After reading Jennifer Castle’s You Look Different in Real Life and A.S. King’s Reality Boy, I want more. Something Real focuses on Bonnie, one of the stars (along with her twelve siblings) of Baker’s Dozen. When the show gets renewed, Bonnie isn’t entirely sure she wants it – and the producers won’t let her quit.

In Case You Missed It
This week saw Edgar Allan Poe’s birthday! He’s been one of my favorites since childhood and I’ve been celebrating his birthday (with alcohol-laden cupcakes) for years now.

I went into Alyxandra Harvey’s A Breath of Frost thinking it was going to be a typical paranormal. Sometimes I love to be wrong. Despite the book’s length (a few pages shy of 500) I tore through it and enjoyed every moment! four stars

Unfortunately I had more problems with Anna Staniszewski’s The Dirt Diary than I first thought. While typing I became more and more upset and my initial rating fell to two stars.

7 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 1/25

  1. hm, I’m curious to see what you think of Midnight Witch. I read her book The Witch’s Daughter and I HATED it. I keep seeing her other books and getting sucked in by their covers and descriptions, but then I turn away when I realize it’s written by her. I wonder if they’re better though? I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for your review.

Leave a Reply

