Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 1/18: winner edition

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

BOUGHT
Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly #1) by Susan Dennard
Last year I borrowed this from my library but had to return it before I got a chance to read it. I happened to come across it at work and for $4 it was mine, all mine!

WON
A few weeks ago the ladies at LitLushes had a big giveaway and I was a winner!
Rock and a Hard Place and Snapshot (The Jamieson Connection #1 & #2) by Angie Stanton
Confessions of a Hater by Caprice Crane
Switched (Trylle #1) by Amanda Hocking
The Dollhouse Asylum by Mary Gray
Hero (Woodcutter Sisters #2) by Alethea Kontis
Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman
*not pictured* because it’s currently my niece’s bedtime story :)

FOR REVIEW
The Office of Mercy by Ariel Djanikian
Y’all know how I feel about dystopian novels, but I really am excited for this one. Fingers crossed!
Bellweather Rhapsody by Kate Racculia
No lie, I legit shrieked when this arrived. I featured it in a WoW post last year and CANNOT WAIT to read it!

A high school music festival goes awry when a young prodigy disappears from a hotel room that was the site of a famous murder/suicide fifteen years earlier, in a whip-smart novel sparkling with the dark and giddy pop culture pleasures of The Shining, Agatha Christie, and Glee.

Yes, yes, yes
Pioneer Girl by Bich Minh Nguyen
A Vietnamese-American woman returns home after grad school and discovers an abandoned object that might have belonged to Laura Ingalls Wilder. Yep, say no more. I’m sold. Also, I received two copies, so keep your eyes open for a giveaway!

In Case You Missed It
It’s Epic Recs time!! This month my partner and I recommended each other dystopian novels (again, fingers crossed).
I loved Kathleen Hale’s No One Else Can Have You. Dark and funny and ten kinds of strange. Basically, a perfect Leah book.

6 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 1/18: winner edition

  1. Awesome haul, congratulations on your win! I loved SSandD too, it was free on Amazon and I just assumed it was probably barely decent, but I loved it. Pretty sure it’s still free now too. Can’t wait to see what you think of it.
    my STS

  2. I liked Something Strange and Deadly! It was really quirky and funny…zombies are kind of awesome. I love the English proper-ness too (oh gosh, “proper-ness” isn’t a word, but it should be). My StS!

Leave a Reply

