epic recs: january

epicrecslogo1 Epic Recs is a new book club started by Amber and Judith where you team up with a partner or a blogging buddy and recommend each other books!

I don’t know about you, but I love this idea and couldn’t sign up fast enough! If you’re interested in signing up visit Amber’s or Judith’s blog – trust me, it’ll be awesome and you just might discover a new favorite novel.

If you missed my December post, I was recommended Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow & Bone. It’ll be hard topping that book, but I think January’s partner just might be onto something!

This month I’m partnered with Ghita from A Moustache Bookshelf. Be sure to pop over to her blog and say hi!

erjan

Ghita’s rec: Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu
You know how sometimes things fall into place so perfectly? A few months ago I bought a copy of this book although I knew I wouldn’t have any time to read it. Looks like I finally have that excuse!

My rec: The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
When Ghita said she love dystopian my first thought was this novel. I’ve had pretty crappy luck with dystopian novels in the past, but this one continues to stick with me. I first read it back in March of 2012 and you can read my full 5-star review here. It’s considered more of an Adult novel than YA, although the main character is a 12-year-old girl. One day the Earth’s rotation begins to slow and at first the days lengthen by just a few minutes. Over the course of a year one full day grows to last 40+ hours. The writing is absolutely gorgeous and, at times, downright terrifying. I loved it and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a fantastic read.

Have you read these books? What did you think? Are you signing up for Epic Recs??
4 thoughts on “epic recs: january

  1. Juhina says:

    I’m a big fan of dystopian novels too so I’ll have to check this one out! and yeay for Shadow & Bone! it was my Epic Rec for January and I JUST finished it two hours ago and LOVED IT. I actually already picked up Siege & Storm! as for Legend, it is awesome! I loved Prodigy more but the whole trilogy was amazing.

    – Juhina @ Maji Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

