epic recs: shadow and bone by leigh bardugo

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo
June 5, 2012
The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Sometimes I need a push to read a book. Whether it’s because I’ve had an iffy experience with the author/similar novels in the past or I simply have too much on my plate already, there have been numerous books widely loved that I just haven’t managed to get to yet. Shadow and Bone is one of those novels. For over a year I’ve been hearing absolutely GLOWING reviews and the current buzz over the third (and final?! I HOPE NOT!) installment coming in the spring has brought this series to my attention once again.

Earlier in December, I posted about Epic Recs, a book club of sorts founded by Judith and Amber. What makes this book club different is that you have a partner and you recommend books to each other. You can read more about it in my post – including what book I recommended to Lillian! As for Lillian, she wasted no time in recommending Shadow and Bone and I immediately grabbed a copy from my library. Russia (or, in this case, Russia-inspired), high fantasy, mythology – these are things that IMMEDIATELY appeal to me. I dove right in and, much to my delight, was not disappointed one bit!

Shadow and Bone tells the story of Alina and Mal, two orphans who were taken in by a Duke and raised together. When they were children they were visited by Grisha, people who possess magical abilities. Every child in Ravka undergoes testing to determine Grisha talents, but neither Alina nor Mal presented abilities and that was it. Ten years later, however, things have changed. Mal is a tracker in the First Army and Alina is a passable mapmaker. On an expedition to the Shadow Fold, a darkness home to creatures seemingly plucked from nightmares, Alina risks her life to save Mal’s and soon the entire kingdom hails the coming of their Sun Summoner.

Suddenly Alina is thrown into the world of the Grisha, a world with magic, fine clothes, and people so utterly breathtaking they can’t possibly be real (and I won’t say anything further on that!). As a Sun Summoner Alina ranks among the most powerful Grisha – comparable to the Darkling, a man who has taken quite an interest in this once-ordinary girl.

Alina’s put to the test – physically, mentally, and emotionally. She’s desperate for a friendly face, she misses the bond she shared with Mal, and struggles to perform her magic. The pressure of being Ravka’s savior weighs heavy on her shoulders and the complete lack of word from Mal cuts deep. Could this pale, scrawny, lonely orphan really be the answer to Ravka’s prayers? Could Alina truly be the person to banish the Fold?

Just like with The Raven Boys, I dreaded the thought of writing a review for Shadow and Bone. I loved this book, absolutely ADORED it, and nothing I could possibly type could ever do it justice. Leigh Bardugo thoroughly won me over, not just with the Russian-esque setting, but with her gorgeous writing, fantastic characters, and beautiful story. I was completely enchanted and had to make the hard decision of reading the entire book in one go (I definitely didn’t want to stop!) or take my time to live and breathe this world. Ultimately the latter choice won – though it was certainly a hard decision to make! – and I spent four glorious days immersed in the world of Grisha.

It’s extremely rare for me to jump right into the next book in a series, but my library currently has a copy of Siege and Storm and, well, I’ve never been very good at controlling temptation..

3 thoughts on “epic recs: shadow and bone by leigh bardugo

  1. prettylreader says:

    This is definitely a book that deserves the hype! I’ve had the sequel for a while though, and haven’t picked it up yet. All this talk of a dreamy character named Sturmhond is piquing my interest again though :D

Leave a Reply

