stacking the shelves 12/7 + november recap!

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!




FOR REVIEW
My Best Friend, Maybe by Caela Carter
The day I received this one in the mail I immediately plopped down on my couch and didn’t look up until I was finished. YA (or literature in general) could always use more GLBT novels and I really enjoyed this one. I think Caela took the ‘easier’ route but it was still a very quick, very lovely novel. This book doesn’t come out until June, so my review won’t appear here for a while still – but be sure to look for it soon on goodreads! (Are we GR buddies? If not, add me!) Have you read her debut novel, Me, Him, Them, & It? What did you think? It’s definitely on my To Read list now!
Just Like the Movies by Kelly Fiore
Fiore’s debut, Taste Test didn’t seem to sit well with many bloggers, but I’m expecting a fun time from this new novel. Two high school girls (one popular, one not) become friends and come up with a plan to create that fairytale romance that you only seen in movies.
Rain of the Ghosts (Rain Cacique #1) by Greg Weisman
A lovely finished copy! A few months ago I received an ARC and my review went live earlier this week. If you’re looking for a new series with hints of paranormal/magical realism + a Bermuda Triangle setting, Rain of the Ghosts is just the book for you! The second book comes out this spring and I’m very excited to see where the story goes!
When Audrey Met Alice by Rebecca Behrens
The First Daughter discovers the diary of another First Daughter: Alice Roosevelt. This one sounds like SO much fun – definitely a quick afternoon read! – and Teddy is one of my favorite presidents, so to have his daughter as the MC is just too great. & maybe it’s just me, but I could TOTALLY see this as a Marky-Kate and Ashley movie. :)
(Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn
Yes, I will be singing that song all night.
The Islands of Chaldea by Diana Wynne Jones
NEW DIANA WYNNE JONES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Guy in Real Life by Steve Brezenoff
Years ago I met some of my closest friends through role-playing, so the nostalgia factor alone is enough for me to be all about this book!
Vivian Divine is Dead by Lauren Sabel
Teen celebrity receives a death threat and goes on the run to Mexico. Yep, I’m ALL over this!
Fan Art by Sarah Tregay
MC falls for his best friend and the girls in his art class are determined to get to two together. Yay, GLBT! It’s been such a long time since I sat down with a cute, fluffy romance that made me feel all fuzzy – I’m long overdue, and I think Fan Art will fit the bill perfectly!
Wicked Games by Sean Olin
Yes, come to me, YA Thrillers! I’m on a crazy awesome streak with this genre and I have no doubts this one will be fantastic.

FROM THE LIBRARY
Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo
If you haven’t signed up for Epic Recs yet, DO IT. This was the book I was rec’d and I’m SUPER PUMPED. Have you read it? HOW FANTASTIC IS IT?!
Wedded to War (Heroines Behind the Lines #1) by Jocelyn Green
Hannah recently mentioned this book and it sounded so good I had requested it from my library before I had even finished typing my comment on her post! The Civil War is one of my biggest passions (& what I studied in school) – any book set during the War/the time period is one I need to read. Historical Fiction + Romance + Civil War = Leah’s perfect snowy-day read. I’m really looking forward to this one! Also it’s based on the letters of Georgeanna Woolsey, a Civil War nurse!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get?

NOVEMBER RECAP

FEATURES
Books in the Burgh
I’m thrilled to share this feature with you guys! Pittsburgh is home to so many wonderful indie bookstores – why not gush over them? This first Books in the Burgh post was all about Mystery Lovers Bookshop, an adorable shop that features only mysteries!

REVIEWS
Palace of Spies (Palace of Spies #1) by Sarah Zettel | 4 stars
Palace of Spies definitely exceeded my expectations! I had a fantastic time reading this book and cannot wait for the next! BONUS: another of Zettel’s books makes an appearance in Books in the Burgh!
Relic (Books of Eva #1) by Heather Terrell | 2 stars
Relic proved two things to me: dystopian SERIOUSLY is not the genre for me & I tend to get rambly when I’m angry.
Bellman & Black by Diane Setterfield | 4.5 stars
TOP PICK FOR NOVEMBER, GUYS. I loved this book. Absolutely loved. If you’re looking to take a break from YA or are a big fan of Historical Fiction (with just a touch of the paranormal) pick up this book. Now. I had so many feels I immediately went and bought Setterfield’s debut, The Thirteenth Tale
Foreplay (The Ivy Chronicles #1) by Sophie Jordan | 4.5 stars
Just when I was about to give up hope on New Adult, Sophie Jordan swoops in with this delightful novel. Great story, incredible characters (well, hello Reece), Foreplay gave me everything I wanted in NA. DEFINITELY picking up the next!
Cracked (Soul Eater #1) by Eliza Crewe | 4.5 stars
Another book that exceeded all expectations! A truly awful main character (she eats people, y’all), a romance that wasn’t focused on the MC, & even a scene that made me tear up!
Pinkerton’s Great Detective by Beau Riffenburgh | not rated
Token non-fic read. James McParland was a detective so secretive that his birthdate has been called into question. His life and cases were so high-profile that Sir Arthur Conan Doyle based a character on him!
The House Girl by Tara Conklin | 5 stars
November ended on an excellent note. The House girl was beautiful and heartfelt and perfect.

2 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 12/7 + november recap!

Leave a Reply

