Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 11/30

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!


FOR REVIEW
I Am Pilgrim (Pilgrim #1) by Terry Hayes
Already the buzz for this behemoth of a novel (700 pages!) is crazy. It’s said to be the Thriller of 2014. Before I started blogging, thrillers were my go-to reads, so I’m pretty excited about this one. Its US publisher is Atria and they never fail me, so I’m positive this will definitely be a fantastic book.
The Midnight Rose by Lucinda Riley
Another Atria score – seriously, guys, if you’re in the mood for an incredible novel, look no further than Atria. I’m all about dual eras in novels and this one has me all giddy. Lucinda’s previous novel, The Lavender Garden was set in Paris in 1998 and WWII. Her latest takes place in modern-day England and – drumroll – 1920s India. Yes, I am DEFINITELY looking forward to this one!
The Moment Before by Suzy Vitello
Yet another novel featuring totally opposite sisters and one dies. This seems to be becoming a trend in YA, but this book sounds good and I’m eager to start.
The Children of the King by Sonya Hartnett
This came out in Australia last year and its US release will be in March. It’s a WWII novel – need I say more? Two siblings are sent to live with their uncle in the countryside and discover two mysterious boys in the ruins of a nearby castle.
The Chance You Won’t Return by Annie Cardi
I’m still not entirely sure what this novel is about – the mother is slowly falling deeper into her delusion of becoming Amelia Earhart? – but I’m intrigued.

BOUGHT
World After (Penryn & the End of Days #2) by Susan Ee
I recently bought the first one and, with a giftcard I won at work, bought the second. I’ve heard crazy good things about this series!

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
With the holidays this week, the blog was pretty quiet. Only one review but it was a lovely one: The House Girl by Tara Conklin. Dual narratives, the looming Civil War, slavery, a major count case in 2004. This was a debut novel that blew me away.

8 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 11/30

  1. So many awesome books! I think I’d be most excited about The Midnight Rose. I’ve been wanting to read The Lavender Garden for a while now, but of course haven’t yet, so now I think there’s another I need to add to my to-read list!

Leave a Reply

