Books in the Burgh: Mystery Lovers Bookshop

booksintheburgh

Morning lovelies! I’m absolutely PUMPED to start up this new series: Books in the Burgh. Pittsburgh has some seriously fantastic indie bookshops and I thought this feature would be a fun way to highlight them. While this won’t be a weekly feature I would like it to be semi-regular (which gives me the perfect excuse to buy books, right??)

WHO are they?
Mystery Lovers Bookshop

WHERE are they?
Oakmont, an adorable little town just outside the city. Bakeries galore + brick streets = ♥ Obviously my friend & I ate our weight in candy! :)

WHEN did they open?
They’ve been in business since 1990. Although the store itself is relatively tiny, they have an online store as well and free shipping on orders over $25!

The shop also has a really awesome British Imports section and – possibly the best idea EVER – they have markers denoting the first in a series! GET ON THIS, OTHER BOOKSTORES. It’s so simple, just a little paper sticking out of the book that says it’s the first, but so helpful; mystery writers certainly love their series!

Another really cool part of the shop is the ARC table! Because advance copies can’t be sold they’re basically up for grabs. The majority are older titles – most have already been released – but I found some hidden gems! I also found an ARC of Accidents Happen that I forced upon my friend (you can read my 5-star review here!)

& lastly – but most importantly!
WHAT did I buy?

Gotta get my cozy fix: Brand New Death (Merry Muffin Mystery #1) by Victoria Hamilton, The Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin #1) by M.C. Beaton, and A Taste of the Nightlife (Vampire Chef #1) by Sarah Zettel – she wrote the super fun Palace of Spies!
I also picked up two ARCs: No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale (I already had an e-ARC of this one, but couldn’t possibly pass the print copy) and Independent Study (The Testing #2) by Joelle Charbonneau. I did NOT like The Testing but I’m willing to keep an open mind – although I’m really starting to think Dystopia is not the genre for me.

3 thoughts on “Books in the Burgh: Mystery Lovers Bookshop

Leave a Reply

