stacking the shelves 11/16

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

BOUGHT
Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh
As you’re all well aware by now, I’m on a HUGE Waugh kick.
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe
Lately I’ve been reading some FANTASTIC sophmore (and beyond) books by authors who are completely new to me. This week I did some hunting at work and rounded up a few debut/earlier novels of authors I loved and this book was one of them. Last year I read – and LOVED! – The House of Velvet and Glass and am beyond excited to finally read Howe’s debut!
The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
A little late to the game with this one, but any book featuring Hemingway is a book for me!
A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle #1) by Libba Bray
The Diviners was my introduction to Ms. Bray and I. NEED. MORE. Fun fact: The Diners was one of my very few 5-star books last year!
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
Two weeks ago my review of Setterfield’s newest, Bellman & Black went live. I absolutely adored that book and have heard marvelous things about her debut. A friend at work recently read it and had only the best things to say! :) Really looking forward to this one!

FROM THE LIBRARY
Chanel Bonfire by Wendy Lawless
A memoir about Old Hollywood and a mother who goes from Holly Golightly to Mommy Dearest. I rarely read memoirs, but this one looked fascinating.
The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell
New York City at the height of Prohibition. That alone was enough to lure me in.

Have you read any of these? What books did YOU get this week??

In Case You Missed It
This week was pretty quiet (I’m working on some new features I’m VERY excited about!!), but the one review posted was a great one. Eliza Crewe’s Cracked took me by surprise: the perfect anti-hero, a wonderful supporting cast of characters, and an all-around fun story. I’m looking forward to the sequel!

8 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 11/16

Leave a Reply

