Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 11/9 + winner!

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!




FOR REVIEW
Dangerous by Shannon Hale
I think this might be space-y, but it doesn’t matter: it’s Shannon Hale.
A Breath of Frost (The Lovegrove Legacy #1) by Alyxandra Harvey
Regency London, hellhounds, and witchcraft. :) What’s not to love!
The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh
This is labeled ‘for fans of Gillian Flynn.’ Although I’ve never read any of Flynn’s novels, I’m intrigued.
The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley
A boy with a rare condition that makes sunlight fatal. His only freedom comes at night and he just might be the key to solving a young girl’s disappearance.
TALKER 25 (TALKER 25 #1) by Joshua McCune
DRAGONS! That’s really all I know about this book, but that’s all I need to know. Dragooooons~
Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman
Anything Holocaust-related gets to me. Hitler is family friends with the MC’s parents. Then a young Jewish journalist comes along and holds clues as to how her father really died. I expect this one to be heartbreaking and difficult.
Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu
Haydu is back with another novel & although I didn’t read OCD Love Story so many of you did and loved it! This one deals with group with a simple premise: tell a secret and receive an assignment. Complete the assignment and keep the secret safe. Tabitha has learned all about Joe from their nightly online chats – including that he’s someone else’s boyfriend. I’m really interested in seeing where Haydu takes this.

FROM THE LIBRARY
Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole
I am not a fan of epistolary novels – narratives told solely through letters, diary entries, etc. That said, there have been a few recently that I’ve discovered I enjoyed (Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments being one of them, but Rainbow’s a rockstar so she can write anything and I’ll love it). Over the past few years I’ve really been trying to branch out and expand my reading horizons, thus I’m giving epistolary novels another shot. Letters from Skye was a nominee in GoodReads’ Choice Awards this year and I have to admit I’m pretty curious!
The House Girl by Tara Conklin
Nominated for two categories (Best Fiction & Best Debut). Naturally I had to see what all the fuss was about! I’m currently reading this one and I am loooving it! This is a book that seems written for me: Antebellum South, paintings, dual narratives (plus dual eras!). I’m in heaven.

Have you read any of these? What did you get this week??

In Case You Missed It
Heather Terrell’s debut Relic made me realize how much I ramble when I have problems with a book. There were SO many issues – seriously, the dystopian genre is not for me – and then the author added to it and wouldn’t stop. AVOID AT ALL COSTS, GUYS.
Luckily Diane Setterfield came to my rescue with Bellman & Black, a delicious gothic novel with just a hint of the paranormal. I absolutely loved this and immediately went out and bought The Thirteenth Tale
The Good Book Train plowed on ahead with Foreplay, the first in Sophie Jordan’s New Adult series. I readily admit to not being a NA fan. Guess what, guys? I adored this book! This is definitely the one to try out if you’re still iffy on the genre!

& lastly, the winner of the Bellman & Black giveaway:

RANDI M!

:) Congratulations Randi!

5 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 11/9 + winner!

Leave a Reply

