Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 10/19

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!



BOUGHT
Scoop by Evelyn Waugh
If you’re a new reader here, you might not yet be aware of my Waugh love. I’m a relatively new fan but now I’m determined to buy everything of his.
Vampire Academy + Frostbite by Richelle Mead
The first two books in the Vampire Academy series. I grabbed for of them for a whopping $1.50 total – it was a no-brainer. These seem like super fun, fluffy reads.
Evermore (The Immortals #1) by Alyson Noel
Okay, so admittedly, the ratings + reviews on GR aren’t that promising, but for $0.50 I’m okay with a lackluster read. Again, fluffy!
Evernight (Evernight #1) by Claudia Gray
The reviews are sliiiightly better for this book/series, but it was another crazy cheap buy.
Angelology (Angelology #1) by Danielle Trussoni
Paranormal is a genre I really don’t read a whole lot of, but something about angels appeals to me. A coworker also bought a copy, so we’ll see how this goes!
Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu
AAAHHHH I’M FINALLY READING THIS GUYS!
Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
This had already been on my To Read list, but a glowing recommendation from a good friend bumped it up to the top! I’ve heard such incredible things about this book and I know I’ll absolutely love it!
Graceling (Graceling Realm #1) by Kristin Cashore
My expectations are wicked high for this one. I’ve heard nothing but the highest of praise for this series.

FOR REVIEW
Cracked (Soul Eater #1) by Eliza Crewe
I’m REALLY looking forward to starting this one! All I know is that it’s about a girl who eats souls and one day men in suits show up to kill her. Yep, this one is definitely going to be read this weekend!
Hild by Nicola Griffith
I legit squealed when I received this one; it completely took me by surprise. Hild tells the tale of the girl who would grow to become St. Hilda of Whitby. I love me some historical fiction and the Middles Ages setting makes me drool all over the place!
Warrior (The Dragon King Chronicles #2) by Ellen Oh
I’ll admit I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first novel, Prophecy, but I was able to grab this one from EW, so I’m willing to give the series another shot.
Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion #1) by Aimee Carter
I was completely surprised to get this one from NG! I haven’t yet read Carter’s Goddess Test series, but this new series sounds totally different and right up my alley. Conspiracies, powerful families, rebellions!
Abby Spencer Goes to Bollywood by Varsha Bajaj
A 13-year-old girl wants to meet her father – only to discover he’s a famous Bollywood star! She travels to India and has to juggle a new culture, the pressure of being related to a huge celebrity, and keeping her identity secret. I recently read – and LOVED!! – My Basmati Bat Mitzvah and I’d love a deeper look at Indian culture. I think this book might just do the trick!
The Plague by Lisa Hinsley
One of my biggest guilty pleasures is a deadly disease. This book instantly caught my eye – and its comparisons to Contagion didn’t hurt!

WON
The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
I won this one during EpicReads’ Tea Time this week! Thanks, ladies ♥

Have you read any of these books? What did you think? What books did YOU get this week?

In Case You Missed It
On Monday I reviewed Paula J. Freedman’s My Basmati Bat Mitzvah. Warning: totally incoherent review that’s more of a gushy love letter! I HIGHLY recommend this one!
This week I’m waiting on The Cracks in the Kingdom, the follow up to A Corner of White, an incredibly inventive book I really enjoyed.
Yesterday I reviewed The Reluctant Reaper by Gina X. Grant. Unfortunately the overabundance of puns was a major turn-off and Dante Alighieri as an emo, lovesick man-boy? No thanks.

7 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 10/19

  1. Some really great books you’ve got this week. I really enjoyed Legend when I read it. The Beginning of Everything was one I reviewed on the blog, though it’s called Severed Heads, Broken Hearts here in the UK(TBOE sounds better), and I really enjoyed that. Hope you enjoy all of your reads! My STS.

  2. Hild! I haven’t read that one yet but I am SO super curious. The historical fiction buff in me is bursting with joy over that subject! I am super curious to see your thoughts on it.

    I liked Legend a lot, but still haven’t read the sequel yet. I hope you like it! Definitely also interested in your thoughts on Warrior. I tried reading the first book but it wasn’t clicking with me after the first few chapters and so I DNF-ed. I’m in love with the premise though. Also interested in your thoughts on Graceling. I liked it, but I was far from in love with it. I never warmed up the to MC, but I love the concept of the world.

    And disease books! They’re my guilty pleasure, too. :)

Leave a Reply

