Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 10/12

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!



BOUGHT
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl #1) by Eoin Colfer
I first read this series years and YEARS ago and loved it, but in one move or another I managed to lose my copies. I grabbed this one at work for $0.50. Not too shabby!
The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones
March 26 was the second anniversary of Diana’s passing and I wrote a post about what she meant to me as a reader. If you haven’t read any of her works I highly recommend doing so!
A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) by Deborah Harkness
I’ve heard some mixed things about this book/series, but a bunch of my co-workers enjoy it + The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic (one of my top reads of 2013!!) was compared to it, so! Plus I grabbed it for $1. :) Can’t go wrong with that.
The two magazines are Civil War Times back issues that I didn’t already have. Yes, I’m that person.

FOR REVIEW
Relic (Book of Eva #1) by Heather Terrell
“For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Game.” um obviously I needed this book in my life. & if that wasn’t awesome enough, Heather is a local author! YAY PITTSBURGH.
The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
Zevin is the author of Elsewhere & the Birthright series. I think this is her first adult novel (??? don’t quote me on that!) and it sounds FAB. Y’all know I love my some good adult reads. A bookstore + a rare collection of Poe’s works. Yep, I’m SO there.
The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry
I don’t know what happened, but this year I became a contemporary FIEND. This book sounds like it should come with a blankie/tissue combo pack: a girl recently diagnosed with diabetes and a boy who lost his arm while serving his country discover what life is all about.
The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon
One of the first reviews on this blog was McMahon’s Don’t Breathe a Word – a book I loved. McMahon is a master at creepy suspense and I expect AMAZING things from The Winter People!
Grave Images by Jenny Goebel
Debut MG! Bernie’s family owns a monument company and their new engraver is beyond creepy. Mr. Stein is engraving headstones of living people…who just happen to die shortly after. Is he predicting their deaths? Scholastic has never steered me wrong!

In Case You Missed It
Monday was the 164th anniversary of Poe’s death.
Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer completely took me by surprise! I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it as much as I did – and now I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for Katie’s Bad Girls Don’t Die trilogy!
Yesterday I talked about two recent DNFs.

9 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 10/12

  1. 1. I have Marie Antoinette from ALA this summer and STILL haven’t read it. I NEED to get on it!
    2. Please review Grave Images, soon! That looks like a book that would be a good addition to my library! (I’m a school librarian.)

    You have a new follower!
    My StS!
    Jenni

  2. A Discovery of Witches is definitely worth at least $1! I REALLY enjoyed it. I had a couple issues with the romance between the two characters, but it was fun and interesting enough that I didn’t let it bother me. And I like the all the history and science as part of the story as well. I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

