Uncategorized

september in review

THE BONE SEASON (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon 4.5/5

NOTHING makes me happier than opening a book and finding a big ol’ map staring at me.

STARRY NIGHTS by Daisy Whitney 3/5

The ending was a bit rushed and too Happily Ever After for me, but Starry Nights was a delightfully inventive story that can easily be read in a single sitting.

+ don’t forget to check out my Staycation post with some of the many wonderful Pittsburgh museums!
CHERRY MONEY BABY by John M. Cusick 3/5

I suppose it’s really saying something when the biggest qualms I have with a book are a fast friendship and super happy ending.

THE PARADOX OF VERTICAL FLIGHT by Emil Ostrovski DNF

While Jack’s extreme irresponsibility made me cringe (leaving his HOURS-OLD son in a sink while he uses a public restroom, for instance!), what ultimately made me put this book down 45% of the way through was the writing.

DEAD GIRLS DON’T LIE by Jennifer Shaw Wolf 5/5

Okay, calling it right now: Dead Girls Don’t Lie is one of my TOP READS OF 2013. It’s that good, y’all.

WILD CARDS (Wild Cards #1) by Simone Elkeles 1/5

Wild Cards was such a disappointment. I went in fully prepared to love every moment, but nothing worked for me.

FIND ME by Romily Bernard 4.5/5

…the bad guy was truly awful and I began to panic and had to set the book down. Having your reader experience such intense emotions takes some serious talent and Ms. Bernard let hers shine.

LOVE OVERDUE by Pamela Morsi 2/5

Extremely sexist dialogue (Scott boasts about how his women roll over and sit at the snap of his fingers), horrible characterization, and a frustrating payoff on a 400+ page romance simply didn’t work for me.

ATTACHMENTS by Rainbow Rowell 5/5

Attachments is the kind of novel I could gush over for hours.

THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS (Mister Max #1) by Cynthia Voigt 2/5

Unfortunately, I was forcing myself to finish and toward the end I was doing more skimming than reading.

Not too shabby! I also read some books in September that I CAN’T WAIT to tell you guys about! Sadly you’ll have to wait a bit for those, but one of my favorites includes a giveaway so be on the lookout!

Also in September I celebrated a little thing called MY BIRTHDAY as well as Roald Dahl Day!

3 thoughts on “september in review

  1. So agree about the maps in The Bone Season. Love when those extras are added. Plus, the lists of all the different types of clairvoyance and how they are classified really helped to keep them all straight.

  2. You read a lot of good things! And it makes me so happy to see Attachments love, since everyone is so Fangirl-crazy right now. It was good, but nearly as good as Attachments (IMHO). And Find Me sounds really cool!

    Have a great October!! :)

Leave a Reply

