Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 9/28: So. Much. AWESOME

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!




Mistwalker by Saundra Mitchell
Maine. Lobster boats. Lighthouses. Ghosts. Me flailing all over the place.
Love by the Morning Star by Laura L. Sullivan
WWII. Half-Jewish daughter. English country estates. Nazi spy. I was intrigued the moment I first heard about this one and legit squealed when it came in the mail.
A Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn
A florist living in exile. Princess whose king wants her dead. DRAGON! Enchanted woods. I WANT TO START READING NOOOOW.
A Death-Struck Year by Makiia Lucier
Okay, so I have a secret. One of my biggest obsessions is ebola & you can bet I’ve watched/read any movie and book dealing with it. I’m fascinated by deadly diseases and the granddaddy of them all is the Spanish Flu. This book is sure to make my heart all aflutter.
Sea of Shadows (Sea of Shadows #1) by Kelley Armstrong
The empire’s criminals are exiled to the Forest of the Dead and Moira & Ashyn are in charge of keeping the spirits at bay.This year, however, the spirits aren’t quite so obliging. As if that wasn’t awesome enough, there are reawakened legendary monsters!
Hung Up by Kristen Tracy
I just featured this one in last week’s WoW. A wrong number and voicemails left for someone else kickstarts a romance between to strangers.
Year of Mistaken Discoveries by Eileen Cook
Childhood best friends drifted apart as they got older and one night one of them ends up dead. This sounds very similar to Dead Girls Don’t Lie which I LOOOOVED, and there’s the interesting addition of discovering the girls’ birth parents.
Careless People: Murder, Mayhem, and the Invention of The Great Gatsby by Sarah Churchwell
Yep. Do I really need to explain this one? :)
One Tiny Lie (Ten Tiny Breaths #2) by K.A. Tucker
I’ll need to read the first one before diving into this, but it sounds like a book I’d enjoy and I’ve been eager to discover more New Adult.
The Drowned Forest by Kristopher Reisz
Two friends have been jumping off the bridge into the river for years. This time, however, the jump goes wrong and now Holly doesn’t realize she’s dead.
The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger
Debut rom-com! You guys know I love me some adult fiction and this one sounds fun! On a weekend when all the hot-shot lawyers are away, Sophie must do an interview with a very important client. The woman wants Sophie to represent her in court and isn’t at all concerned when Sophie admits this is her first: after all, it’s her first divorce too. This novel is being compared to Where’d You Go, Bernadette so I have VERY high hopes for it!

In Case You Missed It
I’ve been a busy little bee these past two weeks!
The Paradox of Vertical Flight was a complete DNF. Way too pretentious for me, thanks. Dead Girls Don’t Lie totally made up for it though! ♥ I loved this book to pieces and a few months ago I had my younger sister – who is NOT a reader – read it and she absolutely devoured it! Wild Cards was my first book by Simone Elkeles and it’ll be my last. A relationship where the couple hates each other, NO football when it’s supposed to be a football novel, and allllmost incest ruined this one for me.
Debut author Romily Bernard is clearly made of awesome: I adored Find Me and can’t wait to see what she writes next! It felt like my reviews this time were alternating – really awful book then a really wonderful one. If Find Me was fantastic, that must mean Love Overdue was…not. Overly long with an ending that comes right in the middle of a scene? No thanks. Luckily I have the always lovely Rainbow Rowell to make things right. Attachments was wonderful and beautiful and funny and heartbreaking and I want to hug it forever.

6 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 9/28: So. Much. AWESOME

  1. i got sea of shadows too this week. i love the cover and the premise sounds like it’s going to be an epic read. hope we both like it. awesome StS! happy reading :)

    please stop by my StS.

    -michelle @ Michelle & Leslie’s Book Picks

Leave a Reply

