2013 · 5 stars · contemporary · fiction

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Title: Attachments
Author: Rainbow Rowell (website | twitter)
Pub. Date: April 14, 2011
Source: Library
Summary: “Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary
Rating:

To say Rainbow Rowell is something of a rock star in the literary world would be putting it lightly. Her work has exploded and I can’t recall any new releases in the past few years that have received as much excitement as Rainbow’s. Just watching all the buzz is intense and being a part of it is nothing short of magical.

It’s a little embarrassing it’s taken me two years to (finally!) read her debut, Attachments. I remember when it came out and I waited and waited for it to come in to my bookstore. Sadly it only came in once (ONCE, PEOPLE!) and was immediately snatched by someone who wasn’t me. A few weeks ago I decided enough was enough and tracked down a copy at my library.

Attachments takes place in 1999, that frantic year of the Y2K scare when everyone was terrified that computers would have a huge meltdown come 2000 (sidenote: a classmate of mine + his friend cut off power at his house just as the ball was dropping and completely freaked out his parents and family. To this day I still giggle like crazy and wish I had thought of that). Beth and Jennifer work for the local newspaper and are close friends. Lincoln is still living at home with his mother – much to the dismay of his older sister – and works a nightshift doing e-mail security. Office e-mail had only recently been implemented and the word filter isn’t foolproof; it’s Lincoln’s job to double-check any flagged e-mails.

With Beth and Jennifer’s e-mails chock full of filter word goodness, Lincoln has a lot of reading material. Initially it was all business, but overtime he develops a fondness for the pair and feels a close connection to them despite never actually having seen either woman. The more he reads the more he realizes he’s in love with Beth Fremont. The only problem? He has no idea how to tell her in a way that doesn’t make him sound like a massive creep.

A little-known fact about me: I love office settings. LOVE them. If a book takes place in an office there’s a good chance I either have already read it or have my eye on it. Douglas Coupland’s JPod was my introduction to this awesome niche and I keep returning to this genre anytime I need a feel-good read. I knew from the start I’d be all over Attachments and it didn’t let me down!

Told mostly through e-mails, Attachments lays claim to being the only epistolary novel I’ve read that I’ve enjoyed. There’s simply something about the format that doesn’t work for me, though I love it in theory. Here, however, it was fun and engaging. Rainbow’s talent shines in her characterization. Even though I only came to know Beth and Jennifer through their e-mails, I felt as though I really knew them. There was never a moment where I felt a disconnect or that they were nothing more than stock personalities. Even the minor characters were all beautifully unique. Rainbow knows what she’s doing and she does it well.

The only time my enjoyment faltered was a brief scene where Lincoln’s ex-girlfriend came back to town. The two began dating in high school and went to college together. Unfortunately, while there, Lincoln caught her with another man and has been haunted by that moment ever since. Her sudden arrival struck me as unnecessary and confusing, though it was quickly over and done with by the next chapter.

Attachments is the kind of novel I could gush over for hours. Apart from being an epistolary novel I liked, it was also one of the only books to actually keep me awake. It’s been far too long since I’ve ignored sleep for a novel, but I can proudly say Attachments was worth it. It made me heart swell, it made my heart break, and it made me think back – fondly! – on the end of the 90s. Do yourself a favor and read this one.

5 thoughts on “Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I’m so glad that you loved Attachments! It’s my favorite Rowell, and my little sister is reading it now :) Beth and Jennifer’s emails are just HYSTERICAL, and Lincoln is such an adorable big goof of a guy. And a gamer! Oh man, I just love it all.

    Also, LMAO at your classmate’s Y2K prank!!

  2. I ordered this recently and can’t wait for it to arrive so I can go on a Rainbow Rowell binge :D I love the format of the book, I love e-mails so reading them and reading a book that is basically told in the form of e-mails? YES.

    I really like that this is set in the 90s too, there aren’t enough books set in that time and it makes me feel awfully nostalgic about it… although I was born midway in the 90s haha so I don’t remember too much xD

Leave a Reply

