Find Me by Romily Bernard

Title: Find Me
Author: Romily Bernard (website | twitter)
Pub Date: September 24, 2013
Source: ARC via Around the World ARC Tours
Summary: “Find Me.”

These are the words written on Tessa Waye’s diary. The diary that ends up with Wick Tate. But Tessa’s just been found . . . dead.

Wick has the right computer-hacking skills for the job, but little interest in this perverse game of hide-and-seek. Until her sister Lily is the next target.

Then Griff, trailer-park boy next door and fellow hacker, shows up, intent on helping Wick. Is a happy ending possible with the threat of Wick’s deadbeat dad returning, the detective hunting him sniffing around Wick instead, and a killer taunting her at every step?

Foster child. Daughter of a felon. Loner hacker girl. Wick has a bad attitude and sarcasm to spare.

But she’s going to find this killer no matter what.

Because it just got personal.
Genre: YA, Thriller, Mystery
Rating:

I don’t want to jinx myself, but I’ve been having insanely good luck lately with Young Adult Thrillers. Before I began blogging, thrillers were my go-to reads, but I never thought to try them in a YA flavor.

Wick Tate doesn’t have a whole lot going for her: her felon father is on the run, cops are trying to squeeze information out of her, she’s on her fourth set of foster parents, and her best friend acts like Wick no longer exists. The two bright sides to Wick’s life are her little sister Lily and her hacking business – women hire her to get the dirt on their cheating boyfriends/husbands.

The morning following a detective’s usual late-night stakeout, Wick finds a diary on the doorstep. Flipping through she recognizes the handwriting of her former best friend, Tessa. Scrawled on the cover however, are the words find me. That day at school Wick learns Tessa died – jumped off a building – and Wick refuses to believe the story ends there. The diary entries talk of more: a man Tessa was seeing, someone who learns Wick picked up his scent and now he’s after her.

YA Thrillers might just be my new favorite thing. Find Me captivated me from the very first page and didn’t let go until well after I finished. There’s a sense of foreboding throughout the novel that I found riveting and more than once my breath caught and I lost myself to the scene. When I read thrillers or mysteries, I like to guess at Who Did It and I tend to be right. The same can be said for Find Me, but the way the mystery was revealed was so expertly done that I didn’t mind one bit! I had actually been hoping for a different character to be the killer and was disappointed I was wrong, but the truth came out and when it did I immediately changed my tune; the bad guy was truly awful and I began to panic and had to set the book down. Having your reader experience such intense emotions takes some serious talent and Ms. Bernard let hers shine.

As per YA there’s a romance involved, but what sets Find Me apart is that there was NOT a love triangle nor was this a case of instalove. Their relationship blossomed over time and it was such a welcome sight. Even better: the romance didn’t take center stage. In the hands of a lesser author, this book about a killer-going-after-the-younger-sister could easily have turned into a starcrossed romance with a hint of an actual plot. No so here!

That this is Ms. Bernard’s debut novel both impresses and excites me! Find Me enveloped me in its mystery – Who was this man Tessa was seeing? Will he get to Wick’s sister? – and its hold refused to give. I highly recommend this book and you can bet I’ll be waiting to see what Romily Bernard writes next!

5 thoughts on “Find Me by Romily Bernard

Leave a Reply

