Uncategorized

stacking the shelves: two week edition

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!


FROM THE LIBRARY
Notes From a Small Island by Bill Bryson
1. It’s Bill Bryson. 2. Non-fiction is a huge guilty pleasure of mine. If you haven’t heard of this book, it’s about Bryson’s farewell tour of the country he lived in for 20 years before returning to his native America. I read some snippets at work a while ago and it was incredibly funny. I’m pretty excited to read the rest!
The Color of Magic (Discworld #1) by Terry Pratchett
Call me crazy, but I’ve decided to read Discworld. All 500 (give or take) books.

FOR REVIEW
Guys Read: Other Worlds (Guys Read #4) edited by Jon Scieszka
Rick Riordan, Shannon Hale, Neal Shusterman, Ray Bradbury – this anthology looks awesome.
Nora Roberts Land (Dare Valley #1) by Ava Miles
I’m typically not big on self-pubs, but one sounds fun. The MC’s ex said her obsession with Nora gave her an unrealistic expectation of love and she’s out to prove him wrong.
Palace of Spies (Palace of Spies #1) by Sarah Zettel
Murder in the court of King George I? UM YES PLEASE.
Lost in Babylon (Seven Wonders #2) by Peter Lerangis
It’s a little absurd how excited I am for this one. In the beginning of the year I read – and loved – The Colossus Rises, the first in the series. Guys, I seriously cannot wait to start reading this book!!

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
I participated in the tour for The Bone Season – if you haven’t yet read it GET ON THAT. It’s fantastic and imaginative and I need to sequel now.
Starry Nights was my introduction to Daisy Whitney and I had a fun time with it. I’m always up for some magical realism and what better place for magic than Parisian museums?
I’m incredibly excited for the new John Boyne (a WWI novel that is sure to turn me into a weepy mess) and a debut that combines The Shining, Agatha Christie, and pop culture.
There was a Jack Kerouac bio giveaway + MY BIRTHDAY!!!
Cherry Money Baby turned out to be a completely different novel than I originally thought – but I had a great time with it anyway.
Roald Dahl Day was this week and Dahl means the world to me. I talked a bit about my intro to him and reviewed Esio Trot.

3 thoughts on “stacking the shelves: two week edition

  1. Nice haul. I’ve had Notes from a Small Island for ages, but have never got round to reading it.

    I love Roald Dahl! His work is so clever and still makes me laugh. Esio Trot is a great book, so sweet and romantic but in a way that won’t make children go “yuck”!

    Here’s my round-up of the week.

Leave a Reply

