Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 8/24

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!



The Red Queen Dies by Frankie Y. Bailey
I featured this one in a WoW post a few months ago and I’m super excited I received a copy! It’s a mystery that takes place in 2019 and is heavy on the Alice in Wonderland shoutouts. Before I started blogging Adult Thriller/Mystery was my go-to genre and it’s still got a special place in my heart.
Foreplay (The Ivy Chronicles #1) by Sophie Jordan
A few weeks ago I got an ARC of Sophie’s upcoming YA, Uninvited, and I’m curious about this NA. I’m still on the fence about New Adult, but I haven’t given up on it just yet!
Sky Jumpers (Sky Jumpers #1) by Peggy Eddleman
NetGalley sent me an invitation to read this one and you guys know I can’t pass up a fun Middle Grade! It’s seems like a Dystopian – which I’m kind of MEH about – but I’ll give it a shot!
The Scar Boys by Len Vlahos
If RJ Palacio’s Wonder was a young adult novel, it’d be something like The Scar Boys.” SAY NO MORE!
White Space (Dark Passages #1) by Ilsa J. Bick
The Matrix + Inkheart! A girl is able to jump into books. I LOVE books that blur the lines between the characters and ‘book’ characters.
Killer of Enemies by Joseph Bruchac
Haha, I featured this one in this week’s WoW post and came back from vacation to discover I received a copy! TALK ABOUT PERFECT TIMING. This one is also a bit Dystopian, but it deals with Apache folklore so I’m ALLLL about it!

Have you read any of these? What books did you get this week??

In Case You Missed It
I fell HARD for The Girl You Left Behind. It was my first Jojo Moyes, but it definitely WON’T be the last. Dual narratives, WWI, a painting with a dark past. If you’re typically a YA reader and you’re looking to dip your feel into Adult, read this book.
I announced both the winner of a giveaway and my departure for vacation! Sadly, the vacation went WAY too fast.
Waiting on Wednesday: Killer of Enemies!
It’s been years since I’ve read a Sharon Creech novel, but her upcoming one looked too good to pass up. The Boy on the Porch feels like a Middle Grade novel written for adults and the ending felt like a punch in the gut.

9 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 8/24

Leave a Reply

