Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 8/17

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!



WON
Sidekicked by John David Anderson
AAAHHHH THANK YOU, SMALL!! You all know I love me some Middle Grade and I’ve been drooling over this one for months now! A school for training superhero sidekicks, the return of a supervillain, DO I NEED TO GO ON?! I’ve been doing my Happy Dance for a few days now and I cannot wait to get started!

FOR REVIEW
Bellman & Black by Diane Setterfield
Haha, I featured this book in last week’s WoW post and this week I wound up receiving both a print ARC & e-ARC. This one sounds great, guys. Creepy, Gothic overtones, a bargain with a stranger, this one has my name all over it!
The House of Journalists Tim Finch
I received an ARC of this one months ago and I got a shiny, finished copy this week! A house in London serves as a refuge for exiled writers. This one is definitely a change from the happy-go-lucky, light-hearted novels I’ve been reading this summer, but it sounds great and I’m looking forward to it.
Louder Than Love by Jessica Topper
One of my biggest guilty pleasures in contemporary romance is a completely opposite pairing. Cheerleader + Goth boy (oh, hello Nevermore!), Goody Two Shoes + Wrong Side of the Tracks, Quiet, Nerdy Boy + Tough as Nail Girl. You get the idea. This one is about a librarian who moves back to her hometown and meets a tatted-up rockstar. :) Perfect vacation read, no?
The Reluctant Reaper (The Reluctant Reaper #1) by Gina X. Grant
Kristy dives in front of a blade, saving her boss’s life, only to find out he traded her soul to the Devil. Now her spirit is stuck in Hell and she’s doing all she can to get revenge on her boss. HOW FUN!!
Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender
Um, did you read that title?! WHERE HAS THIS BEEN ALL MY LIFE!?
Poor Little Dead Girls by Lizzie Friend
I’ve been having insanely awesome luck with YA Thrillers lately and now I WANT TO READ THEM ALL.
The Perfect Match (Blue Heron #2) by Kristan Higgins
Guys. GUYS. I loooved the first book in this series and I legit flailed when I got this one! The Perfect Match focuses on Faith’s sister, Honor, and I’m super excited to read her story!!

(A HUGE thank you to Atria, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Gallery, Harlequin, Merit Press, Penguin, & Scholastic!!)

Have you read any of these? What books did you get this week??

In Case You Missed It
Packing for vacation led to a pretty quiet week here. Yesterday I posted a non-bookish post about one of my nieces!

8 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 8/17

  1. Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer sounds like a hoot! Can’t wait to see what you think of that one.

    And I’m intrigued by the new Diane Setterfield, even though I didn’t enjoy The Thirteenth Tale… HMM….

  2. I’m so jealous that you got The Perfect Match! I absolutely loved The Best Man and can’t wait to get my hands on The Perfect Match. I’m trying to stay away from Netgalley though. o:
    Enjoy all your lovely books & thanks for stopping by my STS Leah! (:

Leave a Reply

