Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 8/10 + giveaway winner!

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!


FOR REVIEW
Open Road Summer by Emery Lord
EXCUSE ME WHILE I GO ALL FLAILY OKAY. A few weeks ago I mentioned this book in my Waiting on Wednesday post where I featured some upcoming contemporaries I’m SUPER excited for. This book sounds crazy awesome you guys and what makes it even more fantastic is that it’s described as “Taylor Swift meets Sarah Dessen.” Perfect vacation read y/y?!

The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon
AAAAHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! Another WoW mention and one I have seriously HIGH expectations for. This book is supposed to be the Next Big Thing and I’m ten kinds of excited to read it! Heads up: I’ll be participating in the blog tour (!!!) so be on the lookout for my review September 2!

Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt
Confession time: whenever I look at the cover I keep thinking this is sci-fi. It’s the gigantic moon. BUT this isn’t sci-fi, promise! It takes place over 12 hours so I’m very intrigued!

Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller
Trish Doller is well on her way to becoming a YA powerhouse and the publicist sent this to me saying it’s a favorite at the office. I have yet to read Something Like Normal, but so many bloggers I trust absolutely loved it. Looking forward to this one!

The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence
I’ve been waiting for this one for what seems like ages. It’s a coming-of-age novel and it just sounds great.

BOUGHT
The Newcomer (Thunder Point #2) by Robyn Carr
I received an e-ARC of the first Thunder Point book, The Wanderer, and couldn’t pass up grabbing the second.

Hemlock Grove by Brian McGreevy
If you haven’t watched the Netflix series, you’re seriously missing out. Matt & I marathoned it in record time and when I saw the book at work I pounced.

Paris Without End by Gioia Diliberto + Fifth Avenue, 5 A.M. by Sam Wasson
Let’s get some non-fiction up in here! I love me a good non-fic and these two are right up my alley. Paris Without End is about Ernest Hemingway’s first wife. Naturally the Fitzgeralds make an appearance as does James Joyce + his wife. Fifth Avenue, 5 A.M. explores the making of Breakfast at Tiffany’s and how Audrey Hepburn changed America’s perception of the Modern Woman. Really looking forward to these two!

Eleanor Rigby by Douglas Coupland
I’m a big fan of Coupland’s and when I saw this one at work for $1 I had to have it.

The House of Velvet & Glass by Katherine Howe
I received an ARC last year and you could say I liked it – it was one of my Top Reads of 2012 and quickly became a favorite period! I didn’t think twice about grabbing the hardback for $1!

Have you read any of these? What books did you get this week??

In Case You Missed It
August 4 was The Pretty Good Gatsby‘s second birthday! To celebrate I wanted to do a little giveaway. The lucky winner is:

Congrats, Lisa!! :) There’s an e-mail headed your way!

You’d think spending 2+ weeks with a book would be a bad thing, right? In this case, that couldn’t be further from the truth. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic was absolutely phenomenal and I’ve gone so far as to force it on complete strangers. My day was made when I found out there will be a sequel. I NEED IT NOW.

My WoW post features two adult novels: one creepy and Gothic, the other some good ol’ fashioned magical realism.

10 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 8/10 + giveaway winner!

  1. AAAAH THE BONE SEASON AND WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE! I’ve heard great things about both and I NEED to get my hands on them when they come out! I’m super jealous of your haul ;D I don’t think I’ve heard of the other books, though. Enjoy your books and happy reading!

    My STS

Leave a Reply

