Uncategorized

July Recap

image via we♥it

This is a joke right? Summer really isn’t almost over! Right? ..guys?

REVIEWS
The Boy on the Bridge by Natalie Standiford 3 stars
Cold War-era Russia is a setting I’d LOVE to see more of in YA! Unfortunately, the setting was the best thing about this book. Instalove-turned-obsession (including an impromptu 500-mile trip + marriage proposal) and an unsatisfying ending made this book a letdown.
The Light in the Ruins by Chris Bohjalian 3 stars
Another book with an intriguing setting: the Italian countryside during WWII. I’m a BIG fan of dual narratives and the gruesome murders were really interesting. If the pacing had been a bit quicker I’m sure I would have enjoyed this novel far more.
Elysian Fields by Suzanne Johnson 4 stars
The third installment in the Sentinels of New Orleans series and it keeps getting better and better. Undead pirates that ooze charm, Louis Armstrong, evil elves, these books are FANTASTIC.
The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle 3 stars
A flawless beginning fizzled off and let me wanting more. Great secondary characters and yay dual narrative made the book enjoyable, however. That said, there was one line that completely took me out of the story and had me raging at the main character.

FEATURES
Top Reads of 2013…So Far
I read SO many good books this year! It was hard to narrow it down to just a handful! Did your favorite make my list??
Seven Authors Who Deserve More Love
Starry Nights-inspired Staycation
My review of Starry Nights goes live in September, thought you can read it on goodreads! Because I couldn’t travel to any Parisian museums, I opted for the second best option: a staycation! Pittsburgh has a TON of incredible museums and I highlighted some of my favorites.
SECRET cover reveal
I usually avoid cover reveals/promo posts, but I am a total Brigid Kemmerer fangirl. Secret is the fourth book and I need my hand on it now. If you aren’t reading these books you’re missing out.

MISC
I got back into the Waiting on Wednesday scene: Triple-Threat Edition, Light-Hearted & Soul-Crushing Edition, Steampunk Victorian England + slaughtering evil faeries, upcoming contemporaries, & new John Corey Whaley!

6 thoughts on “July Recap

  1. I didn’t know you were a Pittsburgher (Pittsburghese? Pittsburghian? Yinzer?) too! I always forget how great the museums here are because I’m just so used to them, having grown up within half an hour of them all and having to endure so. many. class trips to the same ones over and over.

  2. AGREED, how can summer be almost over already? I find this unacceptable.

    Great month in July! I had a staycation too, although I didn’t even do anything cool like museums… I mostly laid around the apartment a lot, which was just perfect :)

  3. I’m sorry but when you got sad about summer almost being over I got excited because it means spring is almost here for me!! We’ve had a pretty mild winter but I am still so keen for sunny and warmer days to be here :)

Leave a Reply

