stacking the shelves 7/27: the one with ALL the books

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!




FOR REVIEW
My Basmati Bat Mitzvah by Paula J. Freedman
After much flailing on my part, I wound up receiving an e-ARC from the publisher and then the author contacted me and sent me a print ARC. She also sent me this super pretty bracelet!

Accidents Happen by Louise Millar
Thrillers are my guilty pleasure ♥! Kate’s parents died in a car accident on her wedding night and her husband was murdered. Were these horrible coincidences or are she and her son in danger of becoming the next victims?
The Lavender Garden by Lucinda Riley
An aristocratic French family, a legendary château, and buried secrets with the power to destroy two generations torn between duty and desire.” Yep. Say no more. This book is a checklist of things I love: dual narration in two time periods, WWII, deadly secrets, forbidden romances (& when it comes to WWII it’s a safe bet there are some Allies/Axis intermingling~). ALSO!!! There have been comparisons to the always fantastic Kate Morton (how is it I’ve only reviewed one of her books here?!). I have insanely high expectations for this one and when I start my vacation packing (three weeks!!) you better believe this one will make it into my bags.
The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes
The publicist pitched this one to me and it was all I could do to reply coherently. JOJO MOYES UM YES PLEASE. HEADS UP: I’ll be doing a giveaway on this one soon!!
Constable & Toop by Gareth P. Jones
Ghosts are disappearing in Victorian London. Middle Grade. Comparisons to NEIL GAIMAN!
The Troop by Nick Cutter
I had featured this one in a recent WoW and received an e-ARC a few days ago. Comparisons to Lord of the Flies and old-school Stephen King totally sold me.

BORROWED
Darkness Becomes Her (Gods & Monsters #1) by Kelly Keaton
As a bookseller, one of the perks of my job is that I get to borrow the books. I was in the mood for something fun and quick and this one looked like it would be perfect.

LIBRARY
Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas
I’m legit the last person on Earth to read this but with the second coming out soon I NEED TO GET ON THIS GUYS.

E-BOOKS
Something Strange and Deadly + A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #1 & 2) by Susan Dennard
Readers have been going CRAZY over this series this week & now that the second one is out I think it’s about time I see what all the fuss is about!
Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn
I’ve been having crazy good luck with YA thrillers lately and I’m hoping the streak continues with this one!
Charm & Strange by Stephanie Kuehn
I try not to give in to hype, but SO MANY bloggers I follow have been singing its praises and I TRUST YOUR JUDGEMENT.
The Archived (The Archived #1) by Victoria Schwab
The premise is completely unlike anything I have read before: there’s an Archive with Librarians, but instead of books, they watch over the dead.

Have you read any of these? Did you like them? What books did you get this week??

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
I LOVE Suzanne Johnson’s Sentinels of New Orleans series and had nothing but good things to say about the third installment, Elysian Fields.
I’m still a newbie to contemporaries (of the YA variety), but I’m open to reading them and these upcoming releases look pretty fab!
If you’re not reading Brigid Kemmerer’s Elemtental series, YOU SHOULD PROBABLY FIX THAT. Secret has a cover and it makes me all grabby-hands!

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 7/27: the one with ALL the books

  1. Dina says:

    I haven’t read Throne of Glass either but have it on my kindle. As excited as most people are for book two, I really want to get to that one.

    This is the first time I’ve seen The Troop and it sounds like a book I would really enjoy. Old-school Stephen King, yes please!

  2. Lexi says:

    I got Throne of Glass from my ibrary this week too! *high five* I’ve been meaning to start the Something Strange and Deadly series due to hearing about it everywhere. I haven’t read The Archived but I really want to soon :)

    My STS, in case you want to check it out!

  3. Kelly L. says:

    I just recently read Throne of Glass and I absolutely loved it. I hope you do too!
    I’ve heard many mixed things about Another Little Piece. I hope you enjoy that one though!
    Happy reading! (:

    My STS

Leave a Reply

