Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 7/13

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!


Starry Nights by Daisy Whitney
Julien is a tour guide at Paris’s Musée d’Orsay. During the night he notices that some of the paintings are coming alive. I’m currently reading this one and it’s pretty fantastic!
Necessary Lies by Diane Chamberlain
1960s, small town in the South, dark secrets. Yep. This has my name written all over it!
My Basmati Bat Mitzvah by Paula J. Freedman
I’m SUPER excited for this one! I had mentioned it in last week’s WoW post and can’t wait to start it. A young girl is about to start seventh grade and is confused about how to deal with not only her Jewish and Indian heritage but also her best friend who miiight be her boyfriend. It sounds sweet and adorable and I can’t wait.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
The Boy on the Bridge focused on a time period that I’d love to see more of in YA: Cold War-era Russia. Unfortunately, while the first half of the book was amazing, the second half suffered from a bad case of instalove and obsessed-creepy-NOT-love.
This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post highlighted three very different books I’m practically drooling over!
The Light in the Ruins was my first Chris Bohjalian novel and I was expecting to be wowed. Seeing WWII from the Italian’s perspective was fascinating – and a nice changed of pace – and the horrific murders kept me interested. Sadly, the pacing was too slow for me and made the book drag.

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 7/13

Leave a Reply

