Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 6/29 + June recap

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

photo (3)
starrysky sultry

The Fury (The Fury #1) by Alexander Gordon Smith
This Wednesday I featured a book I’m super excited for, The Troop, which is being compared to Stephen King. The Fury is also described as King-esque. I’m a total BABY when it comes to horror – you know those truly scary, sleep-with-the-lights-on kind of stories, & guys, I think The Fury might be that story. Someone hold me?
Rain of the Ghosts by Greg Weisman
Ghosts, tropical islands, Bermuda Triangle? YES PLEASE!
Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford
This novel is Ford’s follow-up to Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet which, I admit, I haven’t yet read. Songs of Willow Frost, however, sounds incredible. It jumps between the Great Depression & the Jazz Age and deals with an orphaned Chinese-American boy’s journey to track down his mother – he believes she’s the famous actress Willow Frost. As much as I enjoy YA, I do love a good adult read and Songs of Willow Frost sounds like it’ll be wonderful!
Under the Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy Horan
Another adult novel & this one is a fictionalized account of the marriage of Robert Louis Stevenson and his American wife. I LOVE fiction novels where real people are characters. I can’t wait to start this one.
Surrender to Sultry (Sultry Springs #3) by Macy Beckett
Who doesn’t love some fun, contemporary romance? Especially during the summer! Texan boys and a main character that shares my name? ..that’s really all I need in a novel.

(HUGE thanks to Ballantine Books, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Sourcebooks, and St. Martin’s Griffin!!)

june

image via we♥it


Seriously? A JUNE RECAP ALREADY?!

REVIEWS
Ursula K. LeGuin’s A Wizard of Earthsea really put a damper on the beginning of June. It’s a staple of sci-fi, but I couldn’t get into it. For such a short book, it took nearly a week to read – and that was with MUCH forcing on my part. 2 stars
Thankfully, Christopher Healy righted the world. The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle just might be better than the first book! I absolutely loved it and was so glad to see returning characters as well as meet new ones. 5+ stars
Born of Illusion by Teri Brown is one fantastic book. In the beginning of the year I reviewed one of her adult novels and couldn’t wait to read some of her YA. The Roaring 20s, magic, & Harry Houdini all made this a great book. 4 stars
Steve Berry is a HUGE guilty pleasure. His latest novel, The King’s Deception, explores a Tudor legend: what is Elizabeth II was an impostor? If you’re looking for a good beach read, look no further. 4 stars
Firecracker is David Iserson’s first YA novel. While I thought the book was fun, the main character made me want to rip my eyes out. No redeeming qualities whatsoever & a huge spoiled brat who feels she’s completely justified in her actions. 3.5 stars
Outcast by Adrienne Kress is one of my TOP READS OF 2013. I absolutely loved everything about this book from the setting to the characters and everything in between. Creepy angels are stealing people and there’s a time-travelling Greaser boy from the 50s. READ THIS NOW! 5 stars

MISC
I kind of love Evelyn Waugh and wanted to get my fangirl on.
Matt and I went to a historic town and had an awesome time. Cinnamon buns the size of my face, fried crickets, and our first attempt at growing mint!
For Father’s Day I decided to share two VERY different pieces of advice from my two favorite literary dads.

4 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 6/29 + June recap

  1. Nice haul! I got Fury too and I feel the exact same way. It looks SCARY! The page count also scares me, but the cover and plot make me think this is definitely a “sleep with the lights on” kind of read.

Leave a Reply

