Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 6/22: the one with the AWESOME

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

LOOKITTHOSEPRETTIES
ef tlitr

Wrestling with Tom Sawyer (The Enchanted Attic #4) by L.L. Samson
The fourth book in the adorably fun Enchanted Attic series! This one features Tom Sawyer and, guys, I can’t wait to read this one. Previous books have featured Moby Dick‘s Captain Ahab, the Three Musketeers, & Quasimodo! You can read my reviews for the rest of the series here!
Reality Boy by A.S. King
I’m part of a book tour for this one and – confession! – it’s my first read of King’s. I’ve heard FANTASTIC things about her previous books, so I’m sure this one will be top notch! The premise sort of brings to mind Jennifer castle’s You Look Different in Real Life (read my review here!) with the whole reality show/camera crew bit.
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown (The Coldest Girl in Coldtown 1) by Holly Black
HOLLY BLACK HAS A NEW BOOK. Seriously, need I say more??
Elysian Fields (Sentinels of New Orleans #3) by Suzanne Johnson
I. Love. This. Series. I legit flailed when I was approved for the third book. Post-Katrina New Orleans, shapeshifters, elves, and undead pirates. ♥ Perfection. You can read my reviews for the previous books here!
The Light in the Ruins by Chris Bohjalian
Sometimes you’re in the mood for some good fiction and Bohjalian always delivers. This one alternates between 1943 & 1955 (dual timelines makes my heart all a-flutter!). Florence, WWII, The Light in the Ruins has my name all over it!
Doomed (Damned #2) by Chuck Palahniuk
First things first: I spelled Palahniuk right on the first try and that alone deserves a pat on the back. Second: NEW PALAHNIUK!

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
Matt & I attended an art & garden show in a beautiful historic town and ate cinnamon buns the size of my face. Allow me to repeat: CINNAMON BUNS THE SIZE OF MY FACE.
The 1920s are pretty huge right now & Teri Brown’s Born of Illusion aced all the details. Magic, mysticism, & Harry Houdini all play a role and I adored this book!
For Father’s Day I shared two very different pieces of advice from my two favorite literary fathers.
I have a weakness for thrillers and Steve Berry always brings his A game. The King’s Deception questioned the validity of Elizabeth I and, hoo boy, am I glad I wasn’t a Tudor!
David Iserson, writer for tv’s New Girl has jumped into the YA waters and really showed his colors when he behaved pretty badly. That said, I gave Firecracker a chance, and for the most part, enjoyed it. The supporting characters were great! Unfortunately, though, the main character was nothing more than a spoiled brat.
Calling it now: Outcast by Adrienne Kress is one of my Top 2013 reads! It quickly worked its way to my favorites with its awesome take on angels and a super hot boy who thinks he’s still in the 1950s. Don’t miss this one!

:) What did you get this week??

Follow on Bloglovin

10 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 6/22: the one with the AWESOME

  1. Don’t hurt me, but I’ve never read a Holly Black book before! D:
    I’m planning on reading The Coldest Girl in Coldtown when it comes out though. It’ll be my first Holly Black book. :P
    Enjoy all your books & thanks for stopping by my STS Leah! (:

  2. I saw you give Reality Boy a good rating on Goodreads so you have me interested in that! And I got The Coldest Girl at BEA but I got it for another blogger, though I do want to try one of Holly’s books!

Leave a Reply

