Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 6/8

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

photo (1)
beforeimetyou clockwork

FOR REVIEW
Before I Met You by Lisa Jewell
A dual-narrative between a young woman’s present in the 90s and her grandmother’s life in the 20s?! THIS WAS WRITTEN FOR ME.
The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason
The first in a new series where the niece of Sherlock and the half-sister of Bram Stoker team up to solve a mystery! Yes please!

FROM THE LIBRARY + LIBRARY SALE
The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
SHOCKING CONFESSION #1: I’ve yet to read any of this man’s books. Shocking, I know, for someone who’s such a huge MG fan! :) I’ve decided I need to fix that.
Beyonders: A World Without Heroes by Brandon Mull
Again, another author I haven’t read, though I’ve been SUPER interested in his books for a while now.
Firecracker by David Iserson
This one just recently came out to some extremely mixed reviews, but I’m willing to give it a shot. It sounds like it could be fun: spoiled brat is kicked out of an elite academy and forced to go to public school.

& there was a sale at my library where I grabbed a few books:
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
I couldn’t remember if I bought a copy at work or not, but for $0.25, I figured I might as well buy it.
The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
SHOCKING CONFESSION #2: I’m not the least bit interested in reading any of Tolkein’s works. I know he’s practically the godfather of the fantasy genre and SO MANY of my favorite authors worship him, but I feel so meh. I’m sure they’re good books – and maybe one day – but for now, I’ll keep it on my shelf.
Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
♥ If there’s a Waugh to be had, I will have it. I nearly squealed with delight when I saw this copy.
Jailbird by Kurt Vonnegut
Because he’s VONNEGUT. Enough said.

WON
The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker
I won this one from Audra at Unabridged Chick! SO EXCITED!!

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
It was a pretty quiet week here, namely in part to A Wizard of Earthsea. As much as I wanted to love Le Guin’s classic, I couldn’t get into it and had to force myself to get through the whopping 180 pages. I never pass up a chance to flail over a favorite author and spouted my love for Evelyn Waugh! Ridiculously funny and witty and wasn’t afraid to write about things that were illegal. For the past few weeks I had been on a Pretty Disappointing streak, but then The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle fell into my hands and I knew Christopher Healy wouldn’t steer my wrong. It’s every bit as marvelous as the first and now I’m itching for the third!

Have you read any of these? What did you think? What did you get this week??

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 6/8

Leave a Reply

