Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 4/20

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

photo (7)

LIBRARY
Kat, Incorrigible by Stephanie Burgis

I’ve been curious about this series for a while now & have only heard wonderful things about it!

The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand

Another book that have received WONDERFUL reviews. I recently received an ARC of The Year of Shadows which will be released in August and wanted to read her first book beforehand.

The Menagerie by Tui T. Sutherland & Kari Sutherland

Griffin babies, pompous unicorns, an attention-seeking phoenix. What’s not to love!

BOUGHT
Scoop, Decline and Fall, & Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh

After discovering the brilliance of Evelyn Waugh recently I’ve been on a kick. With my discount at work I was able to get all three of these for $6!

Something Rotten & First Among Sequels by Jasper Fforde

Oh, Mr. Fforde. After a disaster of an introduction I gave Fforde another shot a few years ago and ~saw the light~ He’s definitely an acquired taste, but he’s also an author I’ve come to frequently recommend.

* Also pictured is the third season of Deadwood. This I didn’t buy, but borrowed from work (awesome perks, right??). Matt and I have become pretty obsessed with this show and we’re sad to see it come to an end.

WON
The Chronicles of Chrestomanci vol. 3 by Diana Wynne Jones

Technically I won a giftcard and this is what I bought with it. 12-ish years ago I read the first two volumes and had no idea there was a third. As soon as I heard about it I NEEDED to have it. :) & now I do.


The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

This one was available for a few days on netgalley and already it’s garnered some pretty high praise.

What did you guys get this week?

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
It’s not often that I post non-fiction reviews (though I ADORE non-fic), so when I do you know it’s worth mentioning! My Beloved Brontosaurus by Brian Switek was great. It’s very science-y, but written and explained in a way that anyone can enjoy it. Also: dinosaurs.
Another rare sight here are novellas. Looks like I threw caution to the wind this week! It’s no secret I adore Brigid Kemmerer’s Elemental series. While I tend to avoid side-stories, I’ll make an exception for her and I reviewed Breathless, Nick’s story.
That I love Middle Grade is yet another well-known fact. Infestation by Timothy J. Bradley & The Menagerie by Tui T. & Kari Sutherland were both great – and fun – stories.

6 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 4/20

  1. I’m SO glad that you did post a review of My Beloved Brontosaurus! I started it last night and I’m already enjoying it. I love when you can just FEEL the enthusiasm the author has for the subject.

Leave a Reply

