Uncategorized

March in review!

march

Well hey there, APRIL what! 2013 is already 1/4 over!

So here we are again, looking back on another month. March held only a few books for me, but they were FANTASTIC (including a few whose reviews you won’t see for another month or so!)

REVIEWS
A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki 5+ stars

I usually finish a book in a day or two. With A Tale for the Time Being I wanted to keep reading, but I also wanted to spend as much time with these characters as possible. I learned so much from old Jiko, I wanted to hug Nao and take her away from the awful children in her school, I wanted to sit down and have a conversation with Haruki Yasutani #1. When I finished the book, I held it close as though by doing so I could hold on to the story inside.

Hands down, one of my favorites of 2013 – and a new favorite period. If you’re looking for a good, adult read, look no further.

The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen 3.5 stars

I couldn’t believe that Jaron could change so much in the three weeks between the first book and this one. Jaron was right: hurt was the effect he had on people. I know I certainly was upset he was no longer the clever, witty boy I had grown to love.

While not a bad book, The False Prince was a case of setting impossibly high expectations that ultimately weren’t met.

The Best Man by Kristan Higgins 4.5 stars

The characters shine in The Best Man. Higgins is such a skilled author when it comes to fleshing out her characters and each one felt like a real person, someone I could easily picture meeting.

Sometimes you’re in the mood for some good chick-lit & my introduction to Ms. Higgins was a homerun.

The Loved One by Evelyn Waugh 4.5 stars

The Loved One really is extremely funny, and I feel it’s a perfect starting point in Waugh’s catalog.

Another new authors for me that turned out to be great! Even though this book is 65 years old it feels fresh and contemporary and was a perfect afternoon read.

MISC
Tea Time!
Books & tea go hand-in-hand! In this post I waxed poetic over one of my new favorite tea sites. The best part though: fandom blends.

Reading Kit: The Best Man
I loved The Best Man so much I created a reading kit for it. Included are all sorts of goodies like wine, zombie movies, & subways.

I Have a Secret… on character names
A new series, I Have a Secret, where I reveal certain secrets of mine. This time it was about character names & how I feel when a character shares my name.

Hey bloglovin’ users!
Bloglovin’ is getting some serious love these days and now you can follow The Pretty Good Gatsby there!

On Remembering Diana Wynne Jones & Being a Howl Newbie
March saw the second anniversary of the death of one of the world’s most beloved – and certainly one of mine – authors: Diana Wynne Jones. I still remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard the news and this post talked about her impact on me. Also, I read Howl’s Moving Castle for the first time and shared my thoughts.

2 thoughts on “March in review!

Leave a Reply

