Uncategorized

stacking the shelves: two-week edition!

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

FOR REVIEW

Huge, huuuge thanks to Kensington Books, Troubador, & Farrar, Straus and Giroux!

BOUGHT
photo (2)
Books
The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
Eragon by Christopher Paolini
The View from Saturday by E. L. Konigsburg
The Complete Illustrated Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs and Prehistoric Creatures by Dougal Dixon
Boy Gets Grill & Bobby Flay Cooks American by my boyfriend Bobby Flay
The Salamander Room by Anne Mazer

DVDs
Skyfall (blu-ray)
Once Upon a Time in the Midlands
We’re Back!
Young Frankenstein

So, all those books & DVDs? I spent a whopping $12. :) Just one of the perks of my job~

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
Reviews
The Romanov Cross by Robert Masello featured two of my biggest weaknesses: a Romanov survival story & a deadly virus. Unfortunately, I couldn’t tell whether it was supposed to be a supernatural story or not – and the book itself never specified. Despite my confusion, I enjoyed the story. It’d be a great rainy weekend read (definitely not a one-sitting kind of book: it’s nearly 600 pages!)
A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki is an easy contender for favorite book of 2013. As I said in my review:

When I finished the book, I held it close as though by doing so I could hold on to the story inside.

Absolutely beautiful writing and fascinating characters made this book a complete hit for me. I’ve already recommended it to multiple people – and it hasn’t even been officially out a week yet! This is one you definitely DO NOT want to miss.
The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen made my heart weep. I was so in love with The False Prince and this sequel felt like a completely different story. The characters I loved were there, but they didn’t feel the same. Sadly I didn’t love this one half as much as the first, but I’m holding out hope the conclusion will bring it’s A-game.
The Best Man was my introduction to Kristan Higgins and I can tell you this book won’t be my last! Super-cute chick-lit for that day you just want to sit around in pajamas and watch sappy movies.

Discussions
Note-taking & You posed a question: how do you take notes while reading? Are you a purist who refuses to dog-ear your books? Do you immediately whip out a pen or highlighter?
Tea Time! was my way to flail over teas and my new obsession adagio teas. I especially love their community-created fandom blends!

Memes
Teaser Tuesday: The Runaway King
WoW: Triple Threat Edition
Teaser Tuesday: The Best Man

3 thoughts on “stacking the shelves: two-week edition!

  1. I was just approved for Breathless on Netgalley, too. I’m excited to read that. I have never read Eragon, but I have heard good things about that series. They are always out at the library.

    Anyway, enjoy your books and movies. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

