Harlequin’s new KISS line: Waking Up Married by Mira Lyn Kelly

Title: Waking Up Married
Author: Mira Lyn Kelly
Pub. Date: e-book: December, 2012/print: February, 2013
Source: FREE e-book (Thank you, Harlequin!)
Summary: Her first thought: “Who are you?”

It’s the morning after her cousin’s bachelorette party in Vegas and Megan Scott wakes up with the mother of all hangovers. Even worse, she’s in a stranger’s penthouse having woken up with something else as well – a funny, arrogant, sexy…husband!

Up until now, finding even a boyfriend had seemed impossible – been there, got the broken heart, sworn off men for good. Then a few martinis with Carter…no, Connor Reed and she’s gone from first meet to marriage in one night!

Megan wants a lawyer. But Connor’s shocking bombshell?

“I don’t want a divorce.”
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Rating: star-half-64

“So, Megan. The first thing you should know about me…”

“Uh-huh, yes?”

“I don’t want a divorce.”

Megan Scott had her life figured out: she had her job, her apartment, and a potential sperm donor lined up after a horrible break-up made her swear off men for good. Unfortunately, life doesn’t always go according to plan and after a particularly disastrous night in Vegas with her fellow bridesmaids, Megan finds herself waking up next to a stranger who claims to be her husband.

Harlequin recently announced their new Harlequin KISS line dedicated to fun contemporary stories. I suppose this is a year of firsts for me guys: I just recently read my first Goosebumps book and now I can say I’ve read a Harlequin.

It’s no secret I work in a bookstore. I’m no stranger to series romances and ladies love their Harlequins. To be honest, I never gave much though to Harlequins other than to giggle at their ridiculous Mad-Libs-esque titles.

HOWEVER. There’s always a however, isn’t there? I’ve been craving a light-hearted romance, something to make me laugh and escape the dreary, oh-so-snowy Pittsburgh weather. A few bloggers have been discussing the new Harlequin KISS line, Waking Up Married was free to download, and I had a day off. Perfect combination!

Waking Up Married starts off great. There’s no long, drawn-out beginning here. From the very first page you know all the details. At least, what Megan can remember (which is pretty much nothing). Instead Conner is left to provide the details and convince Megan to give this marriage a shot.

Now I can totally suspend my belief in favor of a fun story. But Connor’s instant – and fierce – determination to stay married didn’t sit well with me. If he was toned down a lot I wouldn’t mind him, but he’s VERY Christian Grey with his stalking (shows up on Megan’s doorstep in Denver AHEAD OF the moving van coming from San Francisco), insistence on what/how much she eats, there’s even a contract! No thank you.

Naturally Megan immediately wants to call up a lawyer and find some way out of this mess. Conner realized that after just a few hours, she was his perfect match – he even calls their marriage a ‘partnership’ – and insists they enter into a two-month trial. Megan will move into his giant mansion and Conner will spend the next few months trying to convince his wife they shouldn’t divorce.

The secondary characters could have been cut and the story would have remained the same, that’s how little of a role they played. The bride/bridesmaids are Mean and Spiteful. Conner’s best friend (I can’t even remember his name now! Something with a J I think) is There For Him. Of course Ex-Girlfriend shows up at a dinner party.

When all is said and done, I took Waking Up Married for what it was: a super-short contemporary romance. I knew exactly what I was getting into and for that I couldn’t fault it too much. It kept me entertained – despite a few eye-rolls – and I’m genuinely interested in seeing what else Harlequin KISS has to offer.

3 thoughts on “Harlequin’s new KISS line: Waking Up Married by Mira Lyn Kelly

  1. Michelle says:

    Sometimes, the best thing you can do is just take a book at face value and enjoy it for what it is, and it sounds like you did just that. It will be interesting to see what else the Harlequin KISS line does.

Leave a Reply

