Uncategorized

january in review

jir

Hard to believe January’s over already! We’re 1/12 of the way through 2013!

Last year I made a 52-book goal and easily beat that with 60-some. This year I aimed a little higher – 75 – and had my doubts at first, but if I continue having months like this I’ll reach my goal in no time.

REVIEWS
City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte 3 stars | My first review of the year and it was a letdown. Such a bummer.
Mothership by Martin Leicht & Isla Neal 3 stars | The ‘meh’ streak continued with this 2012 release. GORGEOUS cover, lackluster story.
Hiding Gladys by Lee Mims 3 stars | 2013 is seriously not starting out well for me. Three books in, three EXTREMELY average reads.
Broken by A.E. Rought 2 stars | One of – if not the most anticipated January release of mine and…no. Just no.
Alone Yet Not Alone by Tracy Leininger Craven 3.5 stars | This one surprised me. The pacing was a bit too fast for my liking, but it was based on the true story of the author’s ancestor and how she escaped a Native American camp during the French-Indian War. When she was 12. Yep. Pretty awesome.
Samantha Sutton and the Labyrinth of Lies by Jordan Jacobs 2 stars | Another book I was really looking forward to – hello, archaeology! – but it was WAY too dry for a YA and I found myself losing focus too many times.
Summerset Abbey by T.J. Brown 4.5 stars | Finally a book shows up to show how it’s done. And boy, Summerset Abbey was great. Definitely for historical fans or Downtown Abbey lovers.
The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd 4.5 stars | Retellings (especially you, Broken), this is how it’s done.
Parallel Visions by Cheryl Rainfeld 2 stars | Sadly my Streak of Awesome didn’t last long.

MEMES
WoW: Double-stuffed edition | I usually don’t do WoWs but there were just too many awesome books to handle. This edition featured a bit of everything: MG, non-fiction, contemporary.
WoW: Heroes & Princes | New Hero’s Guide book. That is all.

OTHER
Leah’s Favorites of 2012 | Ohhh man last year was a PHENOMENAL year for books. So, so many fantastic novels came out and I had such a hard time narrowing it down.
Quote Love: Frankenstein’s Monster | Broken frustrated me to no end and made me yearn for the original to show it how a Frankenstein story should be done.
On Being Sick & Comfort Reads + 2 mini-reviews | Stuffy, headachey Leah came out to play and I discussed books I like to read while feeling crummy. Bonus mini-reviews: my first Goosebumps!! and Christopher Moore’s debut!

WOW! What a jam-packed month! 11 reviews? Holy cow. That’s definitely a record for me (& I’m currently halfway through the 12th). Bring it, February!

One thought on “january in review

Leave a Reply

