Uncategorized

stacking the shelves 1/19

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where we show off all the goodies we received throughout the week!

Oh man, my first StS of the year! I’ve been taking advantage of these quiet weeks and have been (slowly!) making my way through my TBR pile. This week was another quiet week:

FOR REVIEW

FROM THE LIBRARY

:) What did you guys get?

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT
Reviews
City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte 3 stars

In reality it’s 300 pages of the main character sleeping with multiple guys (even statues aren’t out of the question) and 150 pages of actual – and even interesting – plot.

Mothership by Martin Leicht & Isla Neal 3 stars

There are times when sarcasm needs to take a backseat and I’d say finding yourself under attack by aliens in a ship that’s quickly losing oxygen is definitely one of those times.

Hiding Gladys by Lee Mims 3 stars

Looking back, I should have realized who the bad guy was, but while reading, I was totally absorbed and thought for sure it was someone else.

Broken by A.E Rought 2 stars

I wanted monsters. Instead I got an 18 year-old sex god and a deer with a limp.

Alone Yet Not Alone by Tracy Leininger Craven 3.5 stars

Half biographical account, half fiction, author Tracey Leininger Craven tells the tale of two ancestors, Barbara and Regina Leininger. When they were still girls (Barbara was 12, Regina 9), the pair witnessed the deaths of their brother and father and were captured by Indians, taken into their camps and raised as their own.

Samantha Sutton and the Labyrinth of Lies by Jordan Jacobs 2 stars

A quicker story would have made for a far more enjoyable novel, but I suppose the life of an archaeologist isn’t as glamorous as the movies make it seem.

Memes
WoW: Double-stuffed edition

Other
Leah’s Favorites of 2012 I was really surprised to see how many new releases I read! I thought for sure there would only be two or three.
Quote Love: Frankenstein’s Monster

3 thoughts on “stacking the shelves 1/19

Leave a Reply

