2012 · 5 stars · fantasy · paranormal · ya

review; beautiful creatures

Title: Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1)
Author: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
Pub. Date: December 1, 2009
Source: Library
Summary: Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
Rating:

“Mortals. I envy you. You think you can change things. Stop the universe. Undo what was done long before you came along. You are such beautiful creatures.”

There are very few things that can compel me to move a book – especially one clocking in at nearly 600 pages – to the top of my To Read list, but I’m a total sucker for Jeremy Irons. Naturally I had heard of this series and even went so far as to include it in my list of series to read in 2013. A few months ago I saw the movie trailer and thought it looked interesting and a few days ago saw it again while Matt & I saw The Hobbit. A second dose of Mr. Irons was more than I could handle and I promptly went to my library and checked out the first book.

Going into this series I knew nothing about the story. Zip. Nada. Nothing. Imagine my surprise when it relies heavily on a Civil War-era plot! (The Civil War was my area of focus in school and any book about the War – fiction or non-fiction – is a must-read for me). Add in multiple references to To Kill a Mockingbird and you’ve got yourself a triple whammy.

There wasn’t much we wanted to know about any town but our own, and if your granddaddy or great-granddaddy couldn’t tell you, chances were you didn’t need to know.

Beautiful Creatures was a delight to read for the simple fact that the narrator was a boy. Ethan Ware, sixteen, one of the star players on his high school basketball team. I was overjoyed at a male perspective, although the more I read, the more I realized that the only things separating his POV from the countless female protagonists in YA were the pronouns. Once the action started and especially once the romance began developing, Ethan could have easily been any female MC. He just didn’t sound like a 16-year old boy. That said, I liked him.

Ethan lives in the tiny town of Gatlin, famous for its buttermilk pie and a Civil War battle. The previous year his mother died in a car accident and since then his father has been shut inside his study, still too hurt to return to his old life. Amma, Ethan’s nanny? housekeeper? practically raised him and I enjoyed her immensely.

“Harlon James’s been injured, and I’m not convinced he ain’t about ta pass over.” She whispered the last two words like God Himself might be listening, and she was afraid to give Him any ideas. Harlon James was Aunt Prudence’s Yorkshire terrier, named after her most recent late husband.

Gatlin is a town very set in its ways. It’s a town where everyone knows everyone and has for generations. There is a DAR group as well as the Sisters of the Confederacy and the famed Southern hospitality is alive and well.

One day a new girl arrives to the town and immediately her name is on everyone’s lips. Lena Duchannes. Macon Ravenwood’s niece. Despite the Ravenwood being the founding family of Gatlin, the residents still treat Lena as a complete outsider and her taste in black clothing doesn’t help matters.

Of course Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and the two discover they can communicate telepathically, which instantly brought to mind Kami and Jared’s relationship in Unspoken. What Ethan doesn’t know is that Lena is a Caster – a witch – and on her sixteenth birthday she’ll be forced to take part in a Claiming ceremony where her future will either be one filled with Light or Dark.

Macon Melchizedek Ravenwood was the town shut-in. Let’s just say, I remembered enough of To Kill a Mockingbird to know Old Man Ravenwood made Boo Radley look like a social butterfly.

Other reviewers make mention of the abundance of Southern stereotypes, but I didn’t see Beautiful Creatures that way. I was thoroughly sucked in and tore through this massive book in just a few days, which is really saying something, considering the time it usually takes me to read and factoring in the holidays. I absolutely enjoyed this book and can’t believe it took me this long to read it.

I’ll admit that toward the end the plot lost a bit of its steam and started throwing in plot twist after plot twist, ultimately leaving me with more questions than answers (so what really did happen to Ethan’s mom?). I’m hoping these loose ends will be tied up in the following books.

As you all know by now, I’m a BIG fan of dual narratives. Ethan and Lena’s story was intertwined with the story of a Confederate soldier and the Caster girl he loved and although theirs was only told through flashbacks I adored it.

I had spent so many hours in it as a kid, I’d inherited my mother’s belief that a library was sort of a temple.

While Beautiful Creatures did have its flaws (hello, super-insta-love!), I wholeheartedly, absolutely, utterly loved it. It got to the point where I stayed up well past a reasonable hour just to keep reading. I’d reward myself after doing housework by reading a chapter or two.

Its enormous size could definitely have been shed a couple hundred pages and the deus ex machina ending made me roll my eyes, but I savored every moment and there’s no doubt in my mind I’ll be continuing the series.

    Caster Chronicles

  • Beautiful Creatures
  • Beautiful Darkness (2010)
  • Beautiful Chaos (2011)
  • Beautiful Redemption (2012)
6 thoughts on “review; beautiful creatures

  1. I’m really glad you enjoyed this and it’s interesting that the Civil War aspect is what really appealed to you. Not being from the USA, I didn’t find anything to be stereotypical, but I wouldn’t know, and instead enjoyed reading about Gatlin and the South.

    I really enjoyed this when I read it a few years ago, and I just read and reviewed book #4 which was a great conclusion to the series, so you have more good books to look forward to!

    p.s I’ve added your blog to our blogroll :D

  2. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

