Uncategorized

on series and what I hope to read in 2013

I’m a huge fan of series. I do enjoy a good stand-alone, but there’s something about watching characters grow (on in the case of Harry Potter, literally growing with the characters) that just can’t be beat.

In this post I want to highlight a (tiny, tiiiiny) handful of the series I have yet to read or want to re-read in the coming year.

hdm
For one of our first dates Matt bought the trilogy for me and to this day I still have yet to read these books. I know His Dark Materials is one of the most beloved series ever and I’m planning on doing a month-long HDM extravaganza soon, so be sure to watch for it!

pj
It’s funny how customers can affect our reading. So many kids have been into the store these past few years looking for the Percy Jackson books that we became curious ourselves. Lol, it’s actually been a struggle to get the books for ourselves; we can’t seem to keep them on the shelves! I’ve decided to go the safe route and get them from the library (although I’m totally not above fighting small children to get my hands on certain books :D..)

tn
I’ve only read the first few in Fforde’s Thursday Next series and haven’t managed to find the time to continue. It took a few tries (over the course of a few years) for me to ~get~ Fforde’s writing, but once I did there was no looking back. I love his other series and this one is absolutely wonderful as well. The announcement of a new book only adds to my excitement to dive back into these books.

hp
No surprise here, right? Like a lot of other HP fans, I’d reread the entire series with each new release and I hate to admit that I haven’t revisited the series since Deathly Hallows came out. It’s been five long years since I last strolled around Hogwarts or hunkered down at The Burrow. I miss it so. much. you guys. Rereading Harry Potter has been a top priority for a while now and it’s definitely one of my goals for 2013.

agg
Add this to the frightfully long list of Books I Loved From My Childhood But Haven’t Read Since. I remember spending sunny afternoons in my bedroom reading these books. Sadly, I remember virtually nothing of the story other than really, really loving it. Anne of Green Gables is a classic for a reason and I’d love to fall in love with this series all over again.

cn
I’ve had customers, coworkers, even family members literally gasp when I admitted to never having read this series. My mom was a big fan of Narnia growing up and after hearing she enjoyed it I was curious enough to check out one of the books from the library in elementary school. I can’t recall any details of the story, so I’m not entirely sure I read it. I’d love to find out what I’ve been missing all these years.

rw
Redwall remains one of my favorite series to this day. I can vividly remember where I was and what I was doing the moment I discovered this wonderful series. You know something is special when it impacts your life in such a way. I’d love to read the series in chronological order; when I read them I jumped around at random. Although my way of reading the series did nothing to hinder my enjoyment, I’d like to read them and watch the characters grow.

cm
Oh, Chrestomanci. I DEVOURED these books in mere days. Chrestomanci was my introduction to the genius of Diana Wynne Jones and I’m so happy I took a chance and discovered this amazing woman. I’ve forced this series upon customers of all ages and my sheer enthusiasm has led to many purchases. I’d also love to reread her Derkholm series. ♥ Both are absolutely incredible.

gr
Guys, I have heard nothing but FANTASTIC things about these books! They’ve been on my To Read list for ages and I just know that once I read them I’ll be kicking myself for not reading them sooner.

ic
Talk about late to the game. When I first heard of this series, I wasn’t too impressed. There were the rumors that, since his parents have a connection to the publishing world, he had an easy in. Since then, however, my tune has changed. Again, this is a series I’ve heard great things about and I’ve been in the mood for a good dragon story lately.

What series are you hoping to (finally!) get to or reread in 2013?

4 thoughts on “on series and what I hope to read in 2013

  1. Girrrl, so much reading goodness! How do you choose what to start with? Redwall…and going to those Harry Potter events at B’nN.. good memories. Oh and I can see you snagging some book before a little crumb-grabber gets to it first!

Leave a Reply

