Uncategorized

leah’s holiday gift guide!

giftguide
It’s that time of year again! December’s here and your wallets are feeling the pain. If you’re like me, you wait until the last minute before running around in the hopes of finding some last-minute gift. This year I thought it would be fun (& possibly helpful!) to put together a gift guide. I’m keeping things book-related and bookless (for book ideas, check out my 4-star and 5-star ratings).

Powell’s teamed up with Rogue Ales and released a beer a few weeks ago. A Whale of An Ale was inspired by Moby Dick and – get this – actual pages of the book were added to the brew!

How cool is this? Matt’s pretty well-versed in beer whereas I enjoy my yummy, fruity drinks. That said, I’m definitely ordering a few bottles!

Interested? Check it out!

If you’ve got an extra $1,000 to spend, why not stock up on the Harry Potter Page to Screen: The Complete Filmmaking Journey. This limited edition set features books detailing the characters, costumes, creatures, and so much more.

The coolest thing is that each book was created to look like a book you’d find on the shelves of Hogwarts’ library or in a shop in Diagon Alley.

For those penny-pinchers, the set is currently on sale for a mere $600.

Interested (& if you are, why not buy an extra one for me!)? Check it out!

One of my all-time favorite clothing sites is Out of Print. Their shirts (and now iphone/e-reader cases, totes, even coasters!) feature a famous book cover.

I own multiple shirts from this site (as does my mom) and I’ve bought others as gifts. If you’re considering buying a shirt, I recommend buying a size (or two!) larger. Unfortunately, after a few washes the shirts tend to shrink a bit, but they’re so pretty and soft(!!).

Interested? Check it out!

Just take a second to drool all over this, okay?

Okay, good.

Spineless Classics has taken novels and created posters featuring the entire text! You can find Harry Potter, Dracula, Shakespeare, Jane Austen, even the Bible!

I’ve had my eye on a number of these for a while now and it’s only a matter of time before I can call one (or five. or ten.) my own.

Interested? Check it out!

You can never have too many journals! Especially journals made with vintage book covers.

I just recently discovered this site and it’s super cool. There are separate sections for Dr. Seuss journals, Nancy Drew journals, even Golden Book journals. Now I know what to do with all the broken and beat-up books I see at work.

As lovely as they are, I know that if I had one of these I’d never want to write in it!

Interested? Check it out!

Again with the ‘I own this and you should too!” Matt & I are sorta kinda obsessed with candles. Paddywax has a Library line which features scents inspired by famous authors. At the moment they currently have seven authors to choose from: Tolstoy, Twain, Dickens, Austen, Poe, Wilde, and Dickinson. :) Naturally I ordered the Poe candle.

You can also choose between a glass candle, a travel tin, or a diffuser. I can’t speak for the travel tin or diffuser, but the glass candle I had lasted AGES and smelled great (Poe’s fragrance is Cardamom, Absinthe, & Sandalwood).

Interested? Check it out!

I have a confession to make, guys. I could have EASILY made this list nothing but Harry Potter and Doctor Who goodness (and was certainly tempted!). I’m a huge Doctor Who fan. I’m also a fan of artwork/prints (I’ve got quite the collection that needs to finally be hung on the walls). Combine those and you’ve got a fantastic gift.

Nan Lawson has crazy awesome art and the rest of her shop is definitely worth a look!

Interested? Check it out!

There you have it. Seven different present ideas and I’d like to think they feature a little bit of everything. That said, I had to stop myself before adding fifty other ideas – along with twenty other etsy stores.

3 thoughts on “leah’s holiday gift guide!

Leave a Reply

