Uncategorized

teaser tuesday 12/4

https://i1.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1339255693l/14568991.jpg Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Each Tuesday participants share a few teaser sentences from their current read.

My TT this week comes from an interesting little book called Hikikomori and the Rental Sister by Jeff Backhaus. Thomas Tessler experiences a huge and devastating tragedy which results in retreating into his bedroom for three years, never coming out, never sharing dinner with his wife. Silke Tessler makes one final attempt at saving her husband by hiring a “rental sister,” a woman who understands hikikomori all too well.

I scream myself awake, and if my scream has also awakened Silke, she does not come down the hall to ask my about my nightmare. She stays in bed, busy with nightmares of her own.

– pg. 83 of the ARC

Although this book is SO completely different from the books I typically read, I’m really enjoying it! Also, it’s super short: only 246 pages.

:) Feel free to share your teasers!

15 thoughts on “teaser tuesday 12/4

  1. Looks interesting, and the characters seem crazy — the kind I usually enjoy reading. Would love to read what you thought of it after you’re done. :)

  2. This seems to be a gripping story. I’d have to read it in the brightness of an afternoon to prevent my own resulting nightmare!

    :)

Leave a Reply

